Leadership Development Courses & Opportunities

First-Year Leadership Series

The First-Year Leadership Series (FLS) is for first-year Purdue students. This seven session series will explore theorists Kouzes and Posner’s Five Practices of Exemplary Leadership.

Students who complete the series will:

  • Experience leadership growth
  • Learn about and gain access to involvement opportunities and leadership programs
  • Enhance their resumes
  • Receive a certificate and an entry on their co-curricular transcripts

Need more time to think about it?  Come to the first meeting on October 6 at 5:30 PM OR October 7 at 5:30 PM in KRCH 270 to complete your commitment card.

Schedule:  Each session is offered twice per week from 5:30− 7 PM.

Session 1: Overview                           Tuesday, October 6                 Wednesday, October 7

Session 2: Model the Way                  Wednesday, October 14         Thursday, October 15

Session 3: Inspire a Shared Vision      Tuesday, October 20               Wednesday, October 21

Session 4: Challenge the Process        Tuesday, October 27               Wednesday, October 28

Session 5: Enable Other to Act           Tuesday, November 3             Wednesday, November 4

Session 6: Encourage the Heart          Tuesday, November 10           Wednesday, November 11

Session 7: Summary/Action Plan        Tuesday, November 17           Wednesday, November 18

Questions?  E-mail Jesus Romero, Coordinator of Leadership Development, at jesusromero@purdue.edu or call 765-496-2452.