Appointments, honors and activities

August 7, 2015  

Faculty and staff honors:

- LaTayna Greene, senior youth conference coordinator for Purdue Conferences, was recently named a #CMP30 Influencer by the Convention Industry Council. The council said #CMP30 Influencers are certified meeting professionals "who have made a substantial impact on their colleagues and communities and whose contributions have left an indelible mark on the global meetings and events industry." Recipients were peer-nominated and the top 30 influencers were selected by a committee, based on the number of Facebook poll votes, personal influence on peers, and community and leadership presence, the council said. The recipients will be honored next month in Reno, Nevada. For more, visit

Student honors:

- Purdue University agricultural economics students won several awards at the Agricultural and Applied Economics Association's 2015 annual meetings in San Francisco, California, in July, including their second consecutive national championship in a quiz contest. The Purdue Agricultural Economics Academic Quiz Bowl Team competed against 31 other teams consisting of undergraduates from 16 U.S. universities. Purdue fielded two teams and three individuals. Winning the national title was the Purdue Gold Team, consisting of Andrew Johnson, a senior in agricultural economics from Orleans, Indiana; Elizabeth Blinn, a senior in agribusiness and accounting from Warren, Indiana; and Wuzheqian (Jason) Xiao, a junior in agricultural economics from Nanchang, Jiangxi, China. Luis Moisés Peña Lévano, a fourth-year Ph.D. candidate specializing in international agricultural trade from Chincha Alta, Peru, won first place in the Graduate Student Extension Competition for a software program that helps small farmers make financial decisions. He also won the AAEA-Latin American Section Outstanding Research Paper Award for "The Economic Benefits and Costs of Mitigating Climate Interactions Among Carbon Tax, Forest Sequestration and Climate Change-Induced Crop Yield Impacts." Molly Van Dop of Litchfield Park, Arizona, who recently finished her first year of her master's program, took second place in the Extension competition.

- Purdue's Alpha Alpha Chapter of the Zeta Beta Tau Fraternity recently received the Brummer Cup for Best Chapter and the Theodore G. Rich/St. Louis Alumni Association Service Award for Outstanding Participation in Community Projects from the national Zeta Beta Tau Fraternity. Joseph Fischer, a member of the Purdue chapter, received the Roswell "Buddy" Messing Award for Most Outstanding Undergraduate. Zeta Beta Tau Fraternity was founded in 1898 as the world's first Jewish fraternity. ZBT is a brotherhood of Kappa Nu, Phi Alpha, Phi Sigma Delta, Phi Epsilon Pi and Zeta Beta Tau.  

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2014-17 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Integrity Statement | Copyright Complaints | Brand Toolkit | Maintained by Marketing and Media

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact us at so we can help.