Wade Steffey Memorial scholarships awarded to 2 Indiana students

May 19, 2015  

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - Two students from Indiana have been chosen as recipients of Purdue University's Wade Steffey Memorial Scholarship.

Miriam M. Hu of Carmel and David A. Schena of South Bend will receive $2,000 each for the 2015-16 academic year.

The Wade Steffey Memorial Fund was created by Purdue to honor student Wade Steffey, who died Jan. 13, 2007, when he entered an electrical vault in the basement of Owen Hall, a campus residence building. His body was found March 19, 2007, after extensive searches by police agencies, university staff and hundreds of volunteers. Steffey of Bloomington, Indiana, was a National Merit Scholar and Eagle Scout who was majoring in aviation technology.

Hu is enrolled in the College of Science and Schena in the College of Health and Human Sciences. The recipients were selected based on academic excellence, school and community involvement, and financial need.

Students eligible for the scholarship must be from Indiana and plan to attend Purdue. 

Contact: Ellen Barbour, Purdue Division of Financial Aid assistant director, 765-494-5129, carterm@purdue.edu 

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2014-18 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Integrity Statement | Copyright Complaints | Brand Toolkit | Maintained by Marketing and Media

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact us at online@purdue.edu so we can help.