Appointments, honors and activities

March 20, 2015  

Faculty and staff honors:

- Beth M. Holloway, director of the Women in Engineering Program and assistant dean of undergraduate education in Purdue University's College of Engineering, has been selected along with her co-authors to receive the William Elgin Wickenden Award of the American Society for Engineering Education. The award, which will be presented at the ASEE annual conference and exposition in June, is given annually to recognize an article that represents the highest standards of scholarly research in engineering education among the articles published in the Journal of Engineering Education in each volume year. She co-authored the article "Research-Informed Policy Change: A Retrospective on Engineering Admissions," that appeared in the April 2014 issue of the journal. Her co-authors were Kenneth Reid, associate professor of engineering at Virginia Tech; P.K. Imbrie and Teri Reed at Texas A&M University. Imbrie is director of undergraduate academic programs in the Engineering Academic & Student Affairs office, and Reed is assistant vice chancellor for academic affairs.

- The Purdue Chapter of Sigma Xi scientific research society has named Arvind Varma as winner of the 2015 Sigma Xi Research Award. 
 Varma, the R. Games Slayter Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering and Jay and Cynthia Ihlenfeld Head of Chemical Engineering, was selected for the impact of his work on functional materials for diverse applications such as aircraft turbines, orthopedic implants, fuel cells, membranes and carbon sequestration. 
Referees noted that he is the most prolific and most cited chemical engineer in the field of combustion synthesis. 
 Varma will be honored April 8 at the 2015 Sigma Xi banquet.

 - David Miskin, Building Services night/late evening general manager, received a Department of Defense Patriotic Employer Award on March 9. James Burnett, a volunteer for the Department of Defense Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve, presented Miskin with the award, which recognizes supervisor and employer support of and cooperation with service members that exceeds minimum levels required under federal law. Former Building Services employee SPC John Hasek nominated Miskin and Purdue University for the award.

- Alsu Gilmetdinova, Lowell Kane and Ann Elizabeth Rundell have received the Butler Leadership in Action Award. The award recognizes Purdue faculty, staff and students who have shown exemplary leadership in their areas of expertise. To be eligible, individuals must show an "overarching commitment to launching tomorrow's leaders" through criteria such as fostering collaborative and empowering climates and active engagement on the Purdue campus and at state, regional, national and international levels. Gilmetdinova is a Ph.D. candidate in the College of Education; Kane is director of the LGBTQ Center; and Rundell is associate professor of biomedical engineering.

Alumni honors:

- Purdue alumnus James Cloyd has been selected to receive the Sumner J. Yaffe Lifetime Achievement Award in Pediatric Pharmacology and Therapuetics by the Pediatric Pharmacy Advocacy Group. The award is given annually in recognition of significant and sustained contributions toward the improvement of children's health through the field of pediatric pharmacology and therapeutics. Cloyd was recognized for his contributions, "which have expanded and enhanced the knowledge about the use of drugs in children and about the treatment of disease." As the award recipient, Cloyd will present the 2015 Yaffe Award Lecture during the PPAG annual meeting in May in Minneapolis. Cloyd received his bachelor of science degree from Purdue in 1971. He is a professor of experimental and clinical pharmacology and director of the Center for Orphan Drug Research at the University of Minnesota.  

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2014-17 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Integrity Statement | Copyright Complaints | Brand Toolkit | Maintained by Marketing and Media

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact us at so we can help.