Trustees approve moving IPFW interior design program, resolution of appreciation and retirement policy exceptions

April 4, 2014  

WESTVILLE, Ind. – The Purdue University Board of Trustees on Friday (April 4) approved moving the interior design program at Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne.

Trustees, meeting on the Purdue University North Central campus, also approved a resolution of appreciation for those who have donated $1 million or more to Purdue and voted to allow two exceptions to the university's retirement policy.

The board approved moving the interior design program at IPFW from the Department of Manufacturing and Construction Engineering Technology and Interior Design in the College of Engineering, Technology and Computer Science to the Department of Visual Communication and Design, College of Visual and Performing Arts.

"This provides a better academic fit for the interior design program, its students and its faculty as well as the upcoming initial accreditation review for the National Association of Schools of Art and Design," said Vicky L. Carwein, chancellor of IPFW.

The change, which will be effective July 1, will require the Department of Manufacturing and Construction Engineering Technology and Interior Design to be renamed the Department of Manufacturing and Construction Engineering Technology.

Trustees also approved resolutions of appreciation for donor Rita M. Randolph and an anonymous donor. A $1.28 million estate gift from Randolph to the College of Veterinary Medicine will support research and development. The anonymous $1 million gift to Purdue North Central will help build the Student Services and Activities Complex.

At the request of President Mitch Daniels, trustees approved two exceptions to Purdue's policy that requires university executives and staff in high policymaking positions to retire by the end of the fiscal year in which they turn 65. The exceptions were granted for Leah Jamieson, the John A. Edwardson Dean of Engineering, and James B. Dworkin, chancellor of Purdue North Central.

Jamieson's tenure was extended to no later than June 30, 2017, while Dworkin's was extended to no later than June 30, 2016.

Daniels said Dworkin has an important role as opportunities for operational efficiencies between Purdue Calumet and Purdue North Central are explored, and Jamieson is playing a key part in efforts to expand the College of Engineering as part of the Purdue Moves initiatives. He said Jamieson and Dworkin both want to continue in their positions.

Jamieson has been dean of the College of Engineering since 2006 and also serves as the Ransburg Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering. She is a co-founder of the Engineering Projects in Community Service program, which has helped many organizations in the community. As an advocate for women in science, technology, engineering and mathematics, Jamieson has won numerous awards including the Helen B. Schleman Gold Medallion, the Violet Haas Award and the Title IX Distinguished Service Award from Purdue.

Dworkin has been chancellor at Purdue North Central since 2000. During his tenure the campus student population has grown from 3,459 students to 6,048 students. The number of baccalaureate degree programs has increased from six to 24. To date PNC has graduated more than 11,000 students, and more than 85 percent of alumni reside in the PNC service area. 

Writer: Greg McClure, 765-496-9711, 

Sources: Mitch Daniels,

Timothy D. Sands, chief executive officer and provost, 765-494-9709,

Vicky Carwein, 260-481-6103,

James Dworkin, 219-785-5331,

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2014-17 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Integrity Statement | Copyright Complaints | Brand Toolkit | Maintained by Marketing and Media

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact us at so we can help.