Appointments, honors and activities

May 23, 2014  

Faculty and staff honors:

- Vladimir Shalaev of Purdue University and Wenshan Cai of the Georgia Institute of Technology will accept the 2014 Joseph W. Goodman Book Writing Award for their tutorial book Optical Metamaterials: Fundamentals and Applications. The biennial award is co-sponsored by SPIE, the international society for optics and photonics, and The Optical Society (OSA), and will be presented in August during the SPIE Optics + Photonics symposium in San Diego. Shalaev is scientific director for nanophotonics at Purdue's Birck Nanotechnology Center and a distinguished professor of electrical and computer engineering. Cai, a former Purdue student, is an associate professor at Georgia Tech.

- Arden L. Bement Jr., former director of the National Science Foundation and inaugural director of Purdue University's Global Policy Research Institute, has been appointed president of the Indiana Academy of Science. His appointment is effective on June 1. The Indiana Academy of Science is a nonprofit professional membership organization of Indiana scientists, science educators and students, founded in 1885. The academy works to promote scientific research, encourage communication and cooperation among scientists and improve education in the sciences. It is one of 47 Academies of Science affiliated with the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Bement, the David A. Ross Distinguished Professor of Nuclear Engineering, retired from Purdue in December 2012, after he helped launch the new Global Policy Research Institute in June 2010.


Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2014-17 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Integrity Statement | Copyright Complaints | Brand Toolkit | Maintained by Marketing and Media

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact us at so we can help.