Mr. Venu Srinivasan - Doctor of Management

May 2014  

Venu Srinivasan

Venu Srinivasan 
Download Photo

Mr. Venu Srinivasan is the chairman of Sundaram Clayton Group, which includes TVS Motor Company, one of India's leading two-wheeler manufacturers, which also manufactures automotive components in India. 

Srinivasan has an engineering degree from the College of Engineering, Guindy, Chennai, India, and a master's degree in management from Purdue. 

The Honorary Consul General of the Republic of Korea, Chennai, India, and member of the Prime Minister's Council in Trade and Industry, Srinivasan is also a member of both the Prime Minister's Scientific Advisory Council and the National Manufacturing Competitiveness Council. He is chairman of the National Safety Council, Government of India. 

He has held positions as president of the Confederation of Indian Industries (CII) from 2009-2010; president of the Automotive Research Association of India from 1998-2000, the premier research and certification of homologation of automobiles institution in India; and president of the Society of Indian Automobile Manufacturers from 1999-2001, the apex body of automobile manufacturers. 

Some of the most recent awards conferred on Srinivasan include the prestigious honor by the president of India, the Padma Shri Award (2010) for his valuable and outstanding contributions in the field of trade and industry; and the distinguished civilian honor 'Order of Diplomatic Service Merit' (Heung-In Medal) (2010) conferred by the president of the Republic of Korea, His Excellency Lee Myung-bak, in recognition of his valuable contribution in promoting Korea-India bilateral relations. 

Under Srinivasan's leadership, Sundaram Clayton Limited was awarded the Deming Prize in 1998 by the Union of Japanese Scientists and Engineers (JUSE) and the Japanese Quality Medal in 2002. In the same year, TVS Motor Company was conferred with the Deming Prize. 

In recognition of his contribution to manufacturing, R&D, technology and quality excellence, he was conferred a "Doctor of Science" by the University of Warwick in 2004. The Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, the oldest IIT in India, conferred upon him "Doctor of Science" in 2009. He was bestowed with the Ishikawa-Kano award in 2012 by the Asian Network of Quality, the apex body for quality in Asia, which covers 18 countries including Japan, China, India, Korea, and Thailand. 

For his contribution to leadership and management, Srinivasan was awarded the JRD Tata Corporate Leadership Award by the All India Management Association in 2005 and the Jamsetji Tata Lifetime Achievement Award by the Indian Society for Quality in 2004. 

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2014-18 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Integrity Statement | Copyright Complaints | Brand Toolkit | Maintained by Marketing and Media

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact us at so we can help.