One Brick Higher presented to faculty members leading core curriculum effort

December 4, 2012  

Teri Reed-Rhoads and Teresa Taber Doughty

Teri Reed-Rhoads, from left, associate professor and assistant dean of undergraduate education in the College of Engineering, and Teresa Taber Doughty, associate professor of special education in the College of Education, receive the One Brick Higher Award from acting President Timothy Sands. (Purdue University photo/Mark Simons)
Download Photo

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. – Two faculty members who have led the core curriculum initiative, Teresa Taber Doughty and Teri Reed-Rhoads, were honored Tuesday (Dec. 4) with Purdue University's One Brick Higher Award.

Taber Doughty, associate professor of special education in the College of Education, and Reed-Rhoads, associate professor and assistant dean of undergraduate education in the College of Engineering, received their awards at the President's Forum in Stewart Center.

The One Brick Higher Award is a special honor at Purdue. It is presented to faculty, staff and students who go beyond the requirements of their role to improve the lives of those around them, increase the effectiveness of the workplace and/or prevent or solve problems. It is given to those who undertake their work with extra vitality, extra care, extra creativity and extraordinary effort.

Taber Doughty and Reed-Rhoads have led the development of a learning outcomes based core curriculum for the West Lafayette campus that will help ensure students have the foundation required for success in their undergraduate studies. The core curriculum will also make it more likely that students will complete their degrees on time, a key strategic goal for the university.

In the past year, Taber Doughty and Reed-Rhoads have collaborated with faculty to develop the core curriculum, while also working with university administrators to get the curriculum approved.

Acting President Tim Sands presented Taber Doughty and Reed-Rhoads with their awards at the start of Tuesday's President’s Forum.

"I think I speak for the entire Purdue family when I say that you have taken this university 'One Brick Higher,'" Sands said.

The One Brick Higher Award is steeped in Purdue history. It first was presented in 2002 and takes its name from events in 1894-95. In 1894 the newly built Heavilon Hall - which was then the home of Purdue engineering - was dedicated. The building featured a tower symbolizing academic excellence. Four days after the dedication, a fire destroyed this new campus landmark. Purdue President James A. Smart rallied spirits on campus by declaring that Heavilon Hall and its tower would be rebuilt "one brick higher."

And it was rebuilt. The new building was completed the following year and featured a tower with a clock and four bells that served as a campus landmark for 60 years.

In the 1950s, Heavilon Hall was torn down and the present structure was built. The bells were placed in storage until 1995, when the Purdue Bell Tower was completed. The bells hanging in the tower today are from the hall that was built "one brick higher."

Faculty, staff and students are invited to submit nominations for future winners of the One Brick Higher Award, which will be presented at future President's Forums. Nominees should be from the West Lafayette campus. A website provides more information about the award and a nomination form.

Source: Timothy D. Sands,

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2014-18 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Integrity Statement | Copyright Complaints | Brand Toolkit | Maintained by Marketing and Media

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact us at so we can help.