Wade Steffey Memorial Scholarship awarded to 3 Indiana students

July 27, 2012  

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - Three students from Indiana have been chosen as recipients of Purdue University's Wade Steffey Memorial Scholarship.

Matthew Grabowski of Fort Wayne, Allisan J. Hoffman of Huntingburg and Stephanie Thiede of Terre Haute will receive $2,000 each for the 2012-13 academic year.

The Wade Steffey Memorial Fund was created by Purdue to honor student Wade Steffey, who died Jan. 13, 2007, when he entered an electrical vault in the basement of Owen Hall, a campus residence building. His body was found March 19, 2007, after extensive searches by police agencies, university staff and hundreds of volunteers. Steffey, from Bloomington, Ind., was a National Merit Scholar and Eagle Scout who was majoring in aviation technology.

Grabowski is enrolled in the Krannert School of Management, while Hoffman is enrolled in the College of Technology and Thiede in the College of Engineering. The recipients were selected based on academic excellence, school and community involvement, and financial need.

Students eligible for the scholarship must be from Indiana and plan to attend Purdue.

Contact: Emily Del Real, assistant director of scholarships, Purdue Division of Financial Aid, 765-494-5059, edelreal@purdue.edu

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2014-17 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Integrity Statement | Copyright Complaints | Brand Toolkit | Maintained by Marketing and Media

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact us at online@purdue.edu so we can help.