2018 Purdue Cryo-EM Symposium

Shively Club in Ross Ade Stadium

November 6-8th,  2018

Day 1 – Tuesday, November 6

4:00pm — 6:00pm
Registration and reception

6:00pm — 7:15pm

7:15pm — 7:20pm
Welcome and opening remarks
Richard Kuhn | Purdue


7:20pm — 9:00pm
Scientific session 1
Chair: Richard Kuhn

7:20pm — 8:00pm
Michael Rossmann | Purdue
Structural Biology at Purdue from 1963 til now

8:00pm — 8:30pm
Wah Chiu | Stanford
Cryo-EM of Chaperonins

8:30pm — 9:00pm
Werner Kühlbrandt | Max Planck
Cryo-EM of energy-converting membrane protein complexes

Day 2 – Wednesday, November 7

7:30am — 8:30am

8:30am — 8:40am
Welcome statement
Suresh Garimella | Purdue


8:40am — 10:10am
Scientific session 2: Virus structures
Chair: John Tesmer

8:40am — 9:05am
Jun Liu | Yale
High-throughput cryo-electron tomography: Visualizing transient channel during viral infection

9:05am — 9:30am
Phoebe Stewart | Case Western
Cryo-EM and cryo-ET studies of viral nanoparticles

9:30am — 9:55am
Hong Zhou | UCLA
Visualizing RNA genome transcription in action

9:55am — 10:10am
Chuan Xiao | UTEP
Giant Marine Virus Sample Preparation and Data Collection for Cryo-EM


10:10am — 10:30am
Coffee break


10:30am — 12:00pm
Scientific session 3: Membrane Protein Structures
Chair: William Cramer

10:30am — 10:55am
Yifan Cheng | UCSF
Single particle cryo-EM of TRP channels

10:55am — 11:20am
Eduardo Perozo | U Chicago
Structural Basis of Voltage-Dependent Gating in Ion Channels and Enzymes

11:20am — 11:45am
John Rubinstein | U Toronto
Structural studies of rotary ATPases

11:45am — 12:00pm
Jiansen Jiang | NIH
Pushing size limit of small membrane proteins using an entry-level electron microscope


12:00pm — 1:30pm

1:30pm — 4:00pm
Free time

Check out our campus tours during this time! Tour guides will be departing from Shively at 1:45pm.

4:00pm — 5:00pm
Poster session
Posters will be setup at both ends of the venue. Presenters can setup anytime before 4:00pm on Wednesday and they can be left up until the end of the day.


5:00pm — 6:30pm
Scientific session 4:  Method developments
Chair: Nicholas Noinaj

5:00pm — 5:25pm
Tamir Gonen | UCLA
MicroED: conception, practice and future opportunities

5:25pm — 5:50pm
Steve Ludtke | Baylor
Bispectral Invariants and Deep Learning in Cryo-EM and Cryo-ET

5:50pm — 6:15pm
Abbas Ourmazd | U. Wisconsin Milwaukee
“Structure” in Structural Biology

6:15pm — 6:30pm
Rui Yan | Purdue
S2 Power Spectra Based CTF Determination and Applications


6:30pm — 8:00pm

Day 3 – Thursday, November 8

7:30am — 8:30am


8:30am — 10:00am
Scientific session 5: Cryo-Electron Tomography
Chair: Wen Jiang

8:30am — 8:55am
Grant Jensen | Caltech
The future of structural biology: lots of electron cryotomography!

8:55am — 9:20am
Daniela Nicastro | UT Southwestern
Probing the molecular organization of cells and organelles using cryo-electron microscopy

9:20am — 9:45am
Peijun Zhang | Oxford
Tales of Two Assemblies

9:45am — 10:00am
Gail Hardy | IU
Identification of the Caulobacter crescentus holdfast anchor complex using electron cryotomography


10:00am — 10:30am
Coffee break


10:30am — 12:00pm
Scientific session 6: Structure of protein complexes – I
Chair: Cynthia Stauffacher


10:30am — 10:55am
Leifu Chang | Purdue
Structural basis for the DOCK2-ELMO complex in RAC activation

10:55am — 11:20am
Hong Jin | UIUC
Structural basis of translation termination

11:20am — 11:45am
Alfonso Mondragon | Northwestern
Novel DNA/Gyrase intermediates observed by Cryo-EM

11:45am — 12:00pm
Guimei Yu | Purdue
Cryo-EM study of an oncogenic tyrosine phosphatase


12:00pm — 1:30pm


1:30pm — 2:30pm
Keynote Lecture
Chair: Leifu Chang
Richard Henderson | MRC-LMB
Single particle electron cryomicroscopy: theory, practice, and prospects


2.30pm — 4:00pm
Scientific session 7: Structure of protein complexes – II
Chair: Angeline Lyon

2:30pm — 2:55pm
Yuan He | Northwestern
Cryo-EM visualization of eukaryotic transcription initiation machineries

2:55pm — 3:20pm
Vinothkumar Kutti Ragunath| NCBS – India
A novel metal-bound active site in a hydrolytic enzyme

3:20pm — 3:45pm
Minglei Zhao | U Chicago
Structural studies of Type-II AAA+ ATPases using single-particle cryo-EM

3:45pm — 4:00pm
Jennifer Cash | U Michigan
Regulation of P-Rex1 by beta gamma subunits, Captured Through Single-Particle Cryo-EM



Program PDF