Preeti M. Sivasankar, PhD, CCC-SLP

Preeti Sivasankar is Vice President for Research Innovation in the Office of Research and Professor of Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences (SLHS). Professor Sivasankar previously served as the Department Head of SLHS and as the Assistant Vice President for Strategic Health Research in the Office of Research. She holds a courtesy appointment in the Weldon School of Biomedical Engineering at Purdue University, and an adjunct appointment in the Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery, Indiana University School of Medicine. She is a faculty associate in the Center on Aging and the Life Course at Purdue University.

Professor Sivasankar is an elected Fellow of the American Speech, Language, and Hearing Association, an Associate Fellow of the American Laryngological Association, and a Distinguished Fellow of the National Academies of Practice. She is past-Editor of the American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology.

Professor Sivasankar conducts programmatic research in voice disorders and upper airway pathophysiology. Her research has been continually funded by the National Institutes of Health and has been recognized with the Purdue University College of Health and Human Sciences Career Research Achievement Award.

Professor Sivasankar is committed to mentoring graduate and undergraduate students and is a recipient of teaching awards including the Purdue University College of Health and Human Sciences (HHS) Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Education, the HHS Graduate Mentor Award, and the SLHS Outstanding Undergraduate Instructor.

Professor Sivasankar has participated in the CIC (Big 10 Alliance) Academic Leadership Program, the Big 10 Alliance Department Executive Officers Seminar, and the Executive Leadership in Academic Technology, Engineering and Science (ELATES) program. She can be contacted at

Taylor W. Bailey

Taylor Bailey, PhD

Postdoctoral scientist
Brooke headshot_small

Brooke Rodgers

Ph.D. student

Ali headshot cropped

Alexandra Frankovich, DVM

Anatomic Pathology Resident

PhD Alumni

Taylor W. Bailey

Taylor Bailey, PhD


Purdue University

Abigail Durkes

Abigail Cox, DVM, PhD


Purdue University

Beth Erickson DiRenzo

Beth Erickson DiRenzo, PhD


Stanford University

Chenwei Duan, B.S.

Chenwei Duan, PhD


Bristol Myers Squibb

Robert Fujiki

Robert Fujiki, PhD


University of Wisconsin-Madison

Xinxin Liu

Xinxin Liu, PhD


CVI Pharmaceuticals Limited

Aaron Kosinksi

Aaron Kosinski, PhD


Beckman-Coulter Inc.

Anusha Sundarrajan

Anusha Sundarrajan, PhD


San Francisco State University

Screen Shot 2023-07-11 at 9.02.14 PM

Anumitha Venkatraman, PhD


University of Wisconsin-Madison

Tanaya Walimbe, B.S.

Tanaya Walimbe, PhD



MS Alumni

Johanna Hassink, Ashleigh Hawes,  Steven Oleson, Sara Schneider, Breanna Stevens

Undergraduate Alumni

Elizabeth Alexander, Rebecca Alper, Shelley Breslauser, Evan Chambers, Abigail Chapleau, Jessica Cornett, Hannah Cox, Maggie Flynn, Kaitlin Gutwein, Juli Hoon, Iechun Johannes, Sara Loerch, Jena Lutz, Logan Mahoney, Sierra Mendoza, Layla Olia, Jenna Olson, Teanna Pounds, Jennifer Powell, Morgan Robertson, Dakota Robinson, Leasa Rueter, Izzy Salpietro, Caroline Sarbiesky,  Abby Schiedler, Holly Schutter, Grace Scott, Shelsea Sordelet, Mira Stankovich, Cristina Vecchio