sealPurdue News

October 11, 1996

Faculty and Staff Honors:

-- Frank P. Incropera, professor and head of the School of Mechanical Engineering, has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering, one of the highest professional distinctions accorded an engineer. Incropera's election is in recognition of his research on the science and practice of heat transfer and for contributions to engineering education. Incropera has been head of the school since 1989, and a faculty member since 1966. He has directed numerous research programs and has published six textbooks and more than 180 archival journal articles. He has earned several awards for teaching from Purdue and national organizations such as the American Society of Engineering Education. A fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, he received the organization's 1988 Heat Transfer Memorial Award for 20 years of research accomplishments, and in 1995 its highest honor for excellence in scholarship, the Worcester Reed Warner Medal. Incropera has worked in the aerospace industry and has been a consultant to industry and government agencies.

-- Dr. Ralph C. Richardson, head of the Department of Veterinary Clinical Sciences, has been named PAWS Veterinarian of the Year in Indiana. The award honors a veterinarian who has demonstrated outstanding contributions to the veterinary profession and the American Cancer Society in an effort to improve awareness of cancer in animals and people through research, education or service. The recipient is chosen by a committee of representatives from the American Cancer Society, Purdue School of Veterinary Medicine and the Butler Co., which sponsors the award. Richardson is a co-founder of Purdue's Comparative Oncology Program, which is dedicated to understanding and more effectively treating cancer in all species. He is active in the Purdue Cancer Center, most recently serving as leader of the Animal Resources Core, and he supports K-9 crusade activities of the Lafayette area Cancer Society.

-- Dr. S. Kathleen Salisbury, associate professor of veterinary clinical sciences, received the Raymond E. Plue Outstanding Teacher Award from Purdue's School of Veterinary Medicine. Graduates of the last three classes vote on the faculty member who has inspired and influenced them the most. The faculty member must meet such criteria as integrity; gentleness; empathy for the student, client and animal; competency as a researcher; and effectiveness as a role model. Plue, a graduate of the Purdue veterinary Class of 1968, is director of animal science field operations at Merck Research Laboratories in Fulton, Mo.

-- M. Beverley Stone, dean of students emerita, was honored with an Alumnae Achievement Award from Randolph-Macon Women's College, Lynchburg, Tenn. Stone was Purdue's first dean of students. She established a scholarship at Randolph-Macon for students majoring in religion or philosophy. The Alumnae Achievement Award is presented annually to women who have distinguished themselves and brought honor to the college.

* To the Purdue News and Photos Page