sealPurdue News

August 23, 1996

Swine Production Technology Team picks up more awards

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. -- Purdue's Swine Production Technology Team has brought home an American Agricultural Economics Association award, the latest in a string of local and national honors.

The team, made up of members of several departments in Purdue's School of Agriculture, was created to help pork producers adapt their operations to compete in the 21st century.

The team has been honored repeatedly, most recently in July by the American Agricultural Economics Association. During the association's annual meeting in San Antonio, the group received the award for the outstanding group Extension program in the country for 1994.

Last spring the team received the National Pork Producers Council (NPPC) Award for Innovation in the education category. The award is sponsored by NPPC and given by the Midwest Section of the American Society for Animal Sciences. Purdue's School of Agriculture also has recognized the specialists with its annual Purdue Agriculture Team Award.

The members of the team are Michael Boehlje, Chris Hurt, Ken Foster, and research assistants Jeff Hale and Michael Boland, all of Purdue's Department of Agricultural Economics; Tip Cline, Allan Schinckel and Wayne Singleton, Department of Animal Sciences; Don Jones, Department of Agricultural and Biological Engineering; Steve Nichols, Carroll County Extension office; Laura Hoelscher, Sharon Katz, Chris Sigurdson and Mike Kerper, Department of Agricultural Communication; and Kirk Clark, School of Veterinary Medicine.

CONTACTS: Wally Tyner, head of the Department of Agricultural Economics, (765) 494-4205; home, (317) 497-3575; e-mail,; Wayne Singleton, (765) 494-4839; home, (317) 463-2210; e-mail,