seal  Purdue News

May 10, 2004

Purdue honors university faculty scholars

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. – Purdue University recently recognized 16 faculty with designated professorships from the Faculty Scholars Program.

"The program is designed to recognize outstanding faculty who are on an accelerated path for academic distinction," said Provost Sally Mason. "Even in its early stages, the program is assisting Purdue with its mission to attract and retain leading scholars."

Select associate and full professors, who have been tenured within the last five years, are awarded this distinction in recognition of their scholarship. Faculty scholars, who are nominated by committees from their schools and approved by the provost, receive additional funding to support their research. The program was created in 1998.

There were 16 faculty scholars honored at a recent recognition ceremony. They are:

• Paul Collodi, professor of animal science.

• Richard Linton, professor of food science.

• David Salt, professor of horticulture and landscape architecture.

• Liping Cai, professor of hospitality and tourism management.

• Charles Bouman, professor of electrical and computer engineering.

• Michael Harris, professor of chemical engineering.

• James Lehnert, professor of electrical and computer engineering.

• Mark Bagnoli, professor of management.

• Gabriele Camera, professor of management.

• Carol Post, professor of medicinal chemistry and molecular pharmacology.

• Walid Aref, associate professor of computer sciences.

• Sabre Kais, professor of chemistry.

• Scott King, professor of geophysics.

• Richard Kuhn, professor of biological science.

• Igal Szleifer, professor of chemistry.

• Jaroslaw Wlodarczyk, associate professor of mathematics.

Purdue also has announced six new faculty scholars, who will be recognized at a ceremony next spring. They are:

• Michael Bergmann, associate professor of philosophy.

• Deborah Knapp, professor of veterinary clinical sciences.

• Roseann Lyle, professor of health and kinesiology.

• James McGlothlin, associate professor of health sciences.

• Duane Wegener, professor of psychological sciences.

• James Fleet, associate professor of foods and nutrition.

These additions will bring the number of faculty scholars to 84.

Writer: Amy Patterson-Neubert, (765) 494-9723,

Source: Sally Mason, (765) 494-9709,

Purdue News Service: (765) 494-2096;

Related Web sites:
Designated University Professors

Office of the Provost

* To the Purdue News and Photos Page