seal  Purdue News

April 16, 2004

Faculty, staff honored at Purdue's Honors Convocation

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. – Purdue faculty and staff received several special honors during the university's annual Honors Convocation on April 4 at the Elliott Hall of Music.

Each of Purdue's academic areas presented awards for excellence in teaching, and there were four honors for special academic endeavors. Award winners were:

• Christian Y. Oseto, professor of entomology, School of Agriculture Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award.

• Lucette B. Comer, professor of foods and nutrition, Mary L. Matthews Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching in the School of Consumer and Family Sciences.

• Teresa Taber Doughty, assistant professor of educational studies, School of Education Outstanding Teacher Award.

• Deborah K. Follman, assistant professor of freshman engineering, A.A. Potter Best of Engineering Teaching Award.

• Frank S. Rosenthal, associate professor of health sciences, School of Health Sciences' Robert R. Landolt Award for Excellence in Teaching.

• Patricia Hart, professor of foreign languages and literatures, School of Liberal Arts Excellence in Education Award.

• Michael J. Cooper, associate professor of management, School of Management Outstanding Undergraduate Teacher Award.

• Cynthia Bozich-Keith, assistant clinical professor of nursing, School of Nursing's LaNelle E. Geddes Excellence in Teaching Award.

• Jane E. Krause, director of experiential programs, School of Pharmacy and Pharmacal Sciences Professor Henry W. Heine Award for Excellence in Teaching.

• Mikhail J. Atallah, distinguished professor of computer science, School of Science Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award.

• Dale B. Oderman, professor of aviation technology, School of Technology James G. Dwyer Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching.

• Stephen B. Hooser, assistant professor of veterinary pathobiology, School of Veterinary Medicine Alumni Outstanding Teaching Award.

• Foods and nutrition faculty members William Evers, professor, and Olivia Wood, associate professor, the Class of 1922 Helping Students Learn Award. Using a U.S. Department of Agriculture grant, Evers and Wood developed computer-assisted instruction for students in a medical nutrition therapy course. The simulation of a real clinical situation included a "patient" played by an actor and a medical chart with data. Students improved their clinical reasoning before starting an internship. The tutorial has become known nationwide. The recipients divide a $3,750 cash prize and their departments will divide a $1,250 academic expense account for their respective use.

• Deborah Anderson, residential life manager at McCutcheon Hall, Helen B. Schleman Gold Medallion Award. The award, which consists of a medallion and $1,500, honors significant contributions by a staff or faculty member to the education and well-being of women students at Purdue.

• Charles Calahan, clinical professor in child development and family studies, Award for Excellence in Distance Learning, Best Credit-granting Program. Calahan developed a course titled "Designing Child and Family Programs."

• Dreama Love, Extension specialist in early care and education training, Award for Excellence in Distance Learning, Best Noncredit Program. She developed a course titled "Non-Formal Child Development Associate Credential Training."

Purdue News Service: (765) 494-2096;

* To the Purdue News and Photos Page