sealPurdue Notebook

Campus activities

-- The 1999 Old Masters program will be Nov. 8 and 9, and the central committee encourages faculty members to invite Old Masters to be part of their classes during those two days. The program brings working professionals to campus to share their experiences with students. For more information or to schedule a visit, contact the Old Masters Central Committee, (765) 494-1747 or

Alumni honors

-- Nine Purdue graduates received Distinguished Alumni Awards on April 23 from the School of Science. The awards were established in 1990 to recognize graduates' contributions and achievements in science and related fields. The 1999 recipients are: David L. Burke, Palo Alto, Calif., professor of physics at Stanford University; Raymond J. Dagenais, Aurora, Ill., physics teacher and science curriculum and assessment leader at the Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy; Andrew G. De Rocco, Hartford, Conn., that state's commissioner of higher education; Jerry R. Ebner, St. Peters, Mo., director of chemical sciences for Monsanto Corporate Research; Thomas J. Santner, Worthington, Ohio, professor and chairman of the Department of Statistics at Ohio State University; Steve Tolopka, Portland, Ore., director of the Managed Platform Lab, Intel Corp; James G. Townsel, Brentwood, Tenn., professor of physiology and director of the Center for Molecular and Behavioral Neuroscience, Meharry Medical College; Gregory Young, Springfield, Va., president and chief operating officer of ENSCO Inc.; and Andris A. Zoltners, Evanston, Ill., professor of marketing in the J.L. Kellogg Graduate School of Management at Northwestern University.

Purdue News Service: (765) 494-2096; e-mail,

* To the Purdue News and Photos Page