seal  Purdue News

August 29, 2003

Faculty and staff honors

– Janet Alsup, assistant professor of English, has been appointed a fellow in the Center for Undergraduate Instructional Excellence in the School of Liberal Arts.

– Jay Akridge, professor of agricultural economics, was awarded the U.S. Department of Agriculture Food and Ag Science Excellence in Teaching Award. He teaches graduate and undergraduate courses in strategic management for food and agribusiness firms.

– Ron Turco, director of the Environmental Sciences and Engineering Institute and professor of agronomy, was named Indiana's Water Guardian Award Winner by the Mid America CropLife Association. Recipients must promote environmental stewardship in the crop protection industry and show concern about the quality of the nation's water supply and overall protection of the environment.

– C.D. Aliprantis, distinguished professor of economics and professor of mathematics, chaired the International Scientific Committee of the Society for the Advancement of Economic Theory, which held its Sixth International Conference on Current Trends in Economics from June 30 to July 6 in Rhodes, Greece. Also on the committee from the Krannert School of Management were Timothy N. Cason and Daniel J. Kovenock, both professors of economics. Purdue was a co-sponsor of the conference, which attracted more than 350 economists and scientists from all over the world. Assistant professors of economics Gabriele Camera and Alain G. Delacroix, Aliprantis, Cason and Kovenock all made presentations at the conference. Economic Theory, the official journal of the Society for the Advancement of Economic Theory, has its editorial office in Jerry S. Rawls Hall. Aliprantis is the editor-in-chief.


Purdue News Service: (765) 494-2096;

* To the Purdue News and Photos Page