sealPurdue News

October 7, 2002

Appointments and promotions; faculty, staff and student honors

Appointments and promotions:
– Pauline Shen has accepted the position of director of development for International Programs and the Graduate School, leaving her former position as director of development in the School of Science. Shen is a member of CASE, NSFRE, Indiana Donors Alliance Seminars and is a fundraising adviser to the Girl Scouts Council, Habitat for Humanity and the Lafayette Urban Ministry.

– Eric Putman has been named the assistant director of development in the School of Agriculture. Putman is a Purdue School of Agriculture graduate and was formerly employed by the Leadership Institute in Arlington, Va., where he was the director of development.

– Jennifer Jeffries has accepted the position of director of development for Purdue Convocations and Lectures. Jeffries served as a marketing consultant for many area businesses and was the former marketing director for WASK radio station.

– Karen Berson has been named the director of corporate relations for the Schools of Engineering, effective Nov. 4. Berson recently served as the director of grants acquisition for the Center for Information Technology at Bethune-Cookman College in Daytona Beach, Fla.

Faculty and staff honors:
– George Bodner, professor of chemistry, has been selected as the 2003 recipient of the American Chemical Society's (ACS) George C. Pimentel Award in Chemical Education. Bodner has contributed to the field of chemical education as a whole and specifically in the areas of problem solving, learning theories and the development of chemical education as a field of research. Bodner will receive his award at the annual ACS meeting in New Orleans on March 25.

– Jillian Buriak, associate professor of chemistry, has been selected as the 2003 recipient of the American Chemical Society's (ACS) pure chemistry award. Buriak's work is in the areas of semiconductor and organometallic surface chemistry, which has applications in nanotechnology, particularly in the interfacing of molecular electronics with integrated circuits. Buriak will receive her award at the annual ACS meeting in New Orleans on March 25.

– Jean Chmielewski, professor of chemistry, has been selected as the 2003 recipient of the American Chemical Society's (ACS) Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award, which recognizes and encourages excellence in organic chemistry. Chmielewski's nomination was based in part on her design of agents to modulate protein-protein interactions, which could lead to anticancer and anti-HIV agents. Chmielewski will receive her award at the annual ACS meeting in New Orleans on March 25.

– Barbara Wood Cook was awarded the Mortar Board National Foundation Distinguished Lifetime Mortar Board Award at the 2002 National Conference in Tampa, Fla. She was nominated and chosen for this award for her lifelong dedication to scholarship, leadership and service within her community, university and profession. The Purdue chapter members made her name the official chapter title – the Barbara Cook Chapter of Mortar Board. Cook was an adviser to the Purdue Mortar Board chapter for more than 30 years. Mortar Board is a national senior honor society that recognizes college seniors for outstanding achievement in scholarship, leadership and service.

– Lawrence S. Preo, executive director of the Purdue Alumni Association, has been elected to a one-year term as vice president/president-elect of the Council of Alumni Association Executives (CAAE). A 1963 Purdue graduate, Preo joined the Purdue Alumni Association as executive director in 1988. He has been involved with the council since 1989 and is a charter member of the organization. Preo also has served as treasurer for four years, membership committee chairman for two years and conference committee chairman for three years. The alumni association executives membership is composed of approximately 85 chief executive officers of alumni organizations from around the country. Its mission is to advocate and sustain the value of alumni association self-governance.

– Rolland L. Strausbaugh, associate professor of business law in the Krannert School of Management, was named a Sagamore of the Wabash. The award, which was presented Sept. 30 at the Kiwanis President's Dinner, recognized Strausbaugh's more than 30 years of community service. Strausbaugh's community involvement includes serving on the Lafayette City Council; as a member of the Mayor's Railroad Relocation Committee, the Lafayette Center for the Performing Arts and the Lafayette Human Relations Committee; on boards of directors of Lafayette Parks and Recreation, and Lafayette Parks Foundation; as commissioner of the Tippecanoe County-Lafayette County Building Authority; in leadership positions on Kiwanis International's local, state and international levels; in leadership positions, including director and president, of the Greater Lafayette Tennis Association and director, finance chairman and director of the Central Indiana Tennis Association. He has taught at the Krannert School of Management since 1968.

– Mileta Tomovic, associate professor of mechanical engineering technology and Technical Assistance Program staff, recently received the American Metalcasting Consortium Program Director's Award and will receive a 2002 Republican Gold Medal for Entrepeneurship in Washington, D.C. The award is given for activity in support of the U.S. Department of Defense. The Gold Medal is for Tomovic's work in support and training of defense contractors in the area of advanced metalcasting, contributions to the Indiana Industries of the Future group and support of Indiana industries through Purdue's technical assistance program.


Student Honors

Purdue student earns national microbiology fellowship

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. The American Society for Microbiology (ASM) has selected Purdue University student Stephen Lindemann, of Munster, Ind., as a 2002 recipient of the ASM Undergraduate Research Fellowship.

This fellowship is aimed at students who wish to pursue graduate careers (Ph.D. or MD/Ph.D.) in microbiology. Fellows have the opportunity to conduct full-time summer research at their institution with an ASM mentor and present their research results at the 2003 ASM General Meeting in Washington, D.C.

Each fellow receives a $2,500 stipend, a one-year ASM student membership and reimbursement for travel expenses to the ASM general meeting. Each mentor receives reimbursement for supplies. This year, 79 applications were received and 26 were awarded. Of the 26 awards, 16 were awarded to students from research and doctoral institutions and 10 were awarded to students from masters and liberal arts institutions.

Richard Kuhn, professor of biology, is Lindemann's mentor. The title of the research is "Flavivirus encapsidation signals." The American Society for Microbiology, headquartered in Washington, D.C., is the oldest and largest single biological membership organization, with more than 40,000 members worldwide.

More information on the fellowship is available on the web.

CONTACT: Jeff Hopcian, (202) 942-9283,

Writer: Chad Boutin, (765) 494-2081,

Purdue News Service: (765) 494-2096;

* To the Purdue News and Photos Page