sealPurdue News

April 26, 2002

Appointments and promotions; faculty, staff and student honors

Appointments and promotions:

– Suzanne Dougherty has joined the alumni club staff of the Purdue Alumni Association as the new assistant director for alumni clubs and young alumni. Her responsibilities include assisting with the development of worldwide alumni clubs and developing the young alumni programming. She also is the adviser to the Purdue Alumni Association Student Ambassadors. Dougherty received her bachelor of science degree from Purdue in 1999. She previously worked as a business analyst and technical writer for Virtual Financial Services in Indianapolis. Before that, Dougherty was an intern for Pioneer Hi-Bred International.

Faculty and staff honors:

– John J. McConnell, Emanuel T. Weiler Distinguished Professor of Management and a professor of finance in the Krannert School of Management, received the 2002 Distinguished Scholar Award from the Eastern Finance Association. He received the award on April 12 at the association's annual membership luncheon in Baltimore. Of the 12 previous winners of the Distinguished Scholar Award, five have been Nobel Prize laureates.

– Two Purdue University professors are among 104 outstanding young scientists and economists recently selected to receive Sloan Research Fellowships. Jonathan Wilker, assistant professor of chemistry, and Brooke Shipley, assistant professor of mathematics, were selected from among hundreds of highly qualified scientists in the early stages of their careers on the basis of their exceptional promise to contribute to the advancement of knowledge in their fields. The Sloan Research Fellowship Program is the oldest program of the Sloan Foundation and one of the oldest fellowship programs in the country. It began in 1955 as a means of encouraging research by young scholars at a critical time in their careers. Each Fellow will receive a grant of $40,000 over a two-year period. The funds may be used in a variety of ways to further the research aims of the recipients.

– The Great Lakes International Grazing Conference recently bestowed this year's Master Grazier awards on a Purdue University Cooperative Extension Service educator and a well-known Indiana forage and dairy producer. The conference planning committee, which includes members from Ohio, Michigan, Illinois, Indiana, and Ontario, Canada, presented the awards to Ed Heckman, Wayne County Purdue Extension Service educator, and David Forgey, owner and operator of Riverview Farm near Logansport, Ind. Heckman, a Purdue University Department of Agronomy graduate, was recognized for his innovation, service and educational outreach on forages and grazing systems.

– Dick Funkhouser, professor emeritus of library science, will be inducted into the Special Libraries Association Hall of Fame at the association's annual conference in Los Angeles this June. He was selected based upon his leadership and service to the SLA and his professional achievements. Funkhouser retired in 2001 after spending most of his career as a science librarian at Purdue University. He also is a recent recipient of the Sagamore of the Wabash. CONTACT: Dick Funkhouser, (765) 743-3378,

– John P. Lisack, professor emeritus in the School of Technology and director emeritus of the Office of Manpower Studies, received the Distinguished Service Citation of Epsilon Pi Tau, an honorary fraternity for the technology professions. In a ceremony held April 13, Lisack was recognized for teaching 23 years in engineering and industrial technology and for directing studies to determine the technological needs of industry. The author of three books on aircraft maintenance engineering and more than 100 manpower reports and studies, Lisack spoke to the spring initiates of the Gamma Rho Chapter of Epsilon Pi Tau. He was awarded the laureate citation from the original EPT chapter at The Ohio State University under William E. Warner, founder of Epsilon Pi Tau. The Distinguished Service citation was presented by Jerry Olson, associate director of the International Office of Epsilon Pi Tau.

– Raghu Rau, an assistant professor of finance in the Krannert School of Management, won the Chicago Quantitative Alliance Award at the organization's spring meeting in Las Vegas. The $2,000 award was for the paper, "Investor Reaction to Corporate Event Announcements: Under-reaction or Over-reaction." Padma Kadiyala, a visiting assistant professor of management at the Krannert School, was the co-author of the paper. The competition is open to non-tenured faculty and students on research topics in finance and investment management.

Student Awards and Honors:

– The School of Liberal Arts has announced its Outstanding Seniors for the 2001-2002 academic year. The honorees are:

• Negin Almassi, Brookfield, Wis. from the Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures.

• Linda K. Bogan, West Lafayette, Ind., from the Department of Communication.

• Emily Durnil, Washington, Ind. from the Department of Audiology and Speech Sciences.

• Barbara "Buffy" Feinstein, Asheville, NC, from the Department of Health and Kinesiology.

• Justin Glon, Mishawaka, Ind., from the Department of Sociology and Anthropology.

• Nicholas Patrick Keiser, Chesterton, Ind. for interdisciplinary studies.

• Gina Niemi, Las Vegas, Nevada from the Department of History.

• Benjamin S. Partridge , Cincinnati, Ohio. from the Department of Philosophy.

• Ching Lynn Phua , Singapore, for economics., a jointly sponsored program between the Schools of Liberal Arts and Management.

• Kristen Sweat, Bloomington, Ind. from the Department of Psychological Sciences.

• Terri L. Towner, Anderson, Ind. from the Department of Political Science.

• Mary Beth Woermbke, Lafayette, Ind. from the Department of Visual and Performing Arts.

Anton Vander Zee, Notre Dame, Ind. from the Department of English.

Purdue News Service: (765) 494-2096;

* To the Purdue News and Photos Page