Purdue University Senate FAQs

Tenured, tenure-track, clinical and clinical-track are all voting faculty members and are eligible to serve on the Senate and its associated committees.

Faculty senator terms are for three years, beginning the June 1 Example: 1 June 2016 through 31 May 2019 (Ref. Purdue Senate Bylaws, Article II, 2.03)

Standing committees must be populated by university senators. There are 8 standing committees, requiring 87 faculty members, therefore nearly every senator should serve on a standing committee. Remember that it is in committee where the work of the senate is completed. The results of this work comes to the senate in the form of a motion which is presented at one meeting, discussed with departmental colleagues, and voted on at the next meeting.

No. Service on a standing committee ends when your senate term ends. If you are interested in serving on the standing committee again, you must self-nominate when the Nominating Committee requests volunteers. We recommend you note that you have served on this committee before and would like to continue to serve on it.

Generally, you will serve on the standing committee only during your colleague’s sabbatical. However, you may serve for the rest of your term on the Senate, if it is mutually agreed upon with your colleague.

Membership Of The Senate


Article II, 2.00 Composition

  1. The senate shall be composed of one hundred and two (102) members.
  2. The representation of the Senate shall be apportioned as follows:
    • The president of the University.
    • The chief academic officer and the chief fiscal officer of the University.
    • The Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson.
    • Four members elected by and representing the faculties of the regional campuses, one each from Calumet, Fort Wayne, North Central and Indianapolis.
    • One undergraduate student member to be selected annually by the Student Senate and one graduate student member to be selected annually by that graduate student organization approved by the Graduate Council, with terms of office to begin on June 1.
    • The remaining ninety-one members shall be apportioned among the faculty units according to the number of faculty members attached to the respective faculty unit including those assigned by the president for the purpose of participating in faculty government procedures, with the provision that no faculty unit shall have fewer than two members. In instances where a dean is administratively responsible for more than one school, the faculties of these schools shall be considered as a single faculty unit. For the purpose of participating in faculty government procedures the faculty of the Libraries shall be considered a faculty unit.
  3. [Paragraph 1 is about Senate Advisors.]

    The senate and committee assignments of the advisors shall be recommended by the senate to the president for a three-year term to begin the next academic year. When vacancies occur, the Nominating Committee shall consult with the chairpersons of the senate standing committees and then, at the second regular meeting of the senate in the spring, propose to the senate a slate of advisors and their committee assignments. Advisors may be recommended to serve successive terms.
    Natalie Carroll, Chair, University Senate Nominating Committee, September 28, 2016