

University Senate

To: The University Senate

- Stephen P. Beaudoin, Senate Immediate Past Chair From: Colleen Brady, Senate Chair Tom Brush, Senator Matthew Conaway, Senator Todor Cooklev, Senator Jennifer Freeman, Senator Keith Gehres, Registrar Neil Knobloch, Senator Eric Kvam, Educational Policy Chair Brian Leung, Senate Vice Chair Julie Liu, Senator Shannon McMullin, Senator Deborah Nichols, Senator and Past Senate Chair Robert Nowack, Nominating Chair Alice Pawley, Senator Erik Otárola-Castillo, Senator Elizabeth Richards, Steering Chair David Sanders, Student Affairs Chair Steven Scott, Senator John W. Sheffield, Senator Thomas Siegmund, Senator Howard Sypher, Senator Eric Waltenberg, Faculty Affairs Chair Kipling Williams, Senator
- Subject:University Senate Commendation for Jay Akridge in Recognition of
His Distinguished Service to the Community
- **Disposition:** University Senate for Discussion and Adoption
- **Rationale:** WHEREAS: Jay Akridge has been a valued and respected member of the Purdue Community for more than forty years.

WHEREAS: Jay Akridge has served the University Senate and Purdue community as a whole as Purdue's Provost, Chief Academic Officer, and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Diversity since July 2017, the longest tenure of any currently serving Provost in the Big Ten. WHEREAS: In these years, Jay Akridge has shown unflagging dedication to the faculty, staff, and students at Purdue, and has been a crucial participant in and advocate for shared governance in our community.

WHEREAS: Jay Akridge is today attending his final Senate meeting as Provost.

Proposal: THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT: The University Senate formally recognizes and salutes Jay Akridge for his unprecedented excellence, his good humor and fellowship, and his lasting contributions to Purdue University. The Senate recognizes that he will be missed.

Endorsements from past and present shared governance leaders:

Frederick C. Berry, Past Nominating Chair Natalie Carroll, Past Chair of the Senate Joseph Camp, Past Secretary of Faculties Cheryl Cooky, Past Chair of the Senate Stephanie Dykhuizen, Past Seargeant-at-Arms Nathan Engelberth, Past PACADA Chair and Advisor to EPC Alexander Francis, Past Faculty Affairs Chair Andy Freed, Past Educational Policy Chair Se'Andra Johnson, Sergeant-at-Arms Signe E. Kastberg, Past Faculty Affairs Chair Manushag N. Powell, Secretary of Faculties Linda Prokopy, Past Faculty Affairs Chair Audrey Ruple, Past Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Chair