

University Senate

To:	The University Senate				
From:	Educational Policy Committee University Resources Policy Committee				
	Faculty Affairs Committee				
Subject:	Statement on shared governance at Purdue-West Lafayette				
Reference:	1. SD 16-26, "Fort Wayne Senate Statement on Shared				
	Governance" Purdue-Fort Wayne Senate				
	2. <u>"Statement on Government of Colleges and Universities,"</u>				
	American Association of University Professors				
Disposition:	University Senate for Discussion and Adoption				
Rationale:	This document draws inspiration and text from Purdue-Fort Wayne Senate Document 16-26 [1].				
	Meaningful shared governance involves the Faculty, the Board of Trustees, and the administration working together for the betterment of the university.				
	Legitimate differences of opinion exist as to what does and does not constitute meaningful shared governance.				
	Differences of opinion regarding what shared governance is and the processes involved can result in distrust among stakeholders.				
	Adoption of a statement on shared governance that is agreed to and adhered to by the Faculty, the Board, and the administration, can prevent future breaches and help to restore trust between these parties.				
	The "Statement on Government of Colleges and Universities" [2] was jointly formulated by the American Association of University Professors, the American Council on Education (ACE), and the Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges (AGB). In 1966, both ACE and AGB commended the Statement to member organizations. Purdue University is a member of both ACE and AGB.				
	The Statement on Government recognizes that "joint effort" of the administration, the Board, and the Faculty yields "increased capacity to solve educational problems." The statement defines "joint effort" as comprising two ideas:				

- 1. "important areas of action involve at one time or another the initiating capacity and decision-making participation of all the institutional components, and
- 2. "differences in the weight of each voice, from one point to the next, should be determined by reference to the responsibility of each component for the particular matter at hand, as developed hereinafter."

While the Statement recognizes the "final institutional authority" of the Board, it also defines the primary responsibilities of the Board, the President (and as they delegate their authority, to the administration writ large), and the Faculty, noting how the Board normally "entrusts the conduct of administration to the administrative officers—the president and the deans—and the conduct of teaching and research to the faculty." The Statement articulates areas of faculty primacy, and notes that "The governing board and president should, [... in] matters where the faculty has primary responsibility, concur with the faculty judgment except in rare instances and for compelling reasons which should be stated in detail."

Proposal: The University Senate adopts the American Association of University Professors (AAUP) "Statement on Government of Colleges and Universities" [2] as a the authoritative working document outlining the principles of shared governance, and a the starting reference for all conversations about shared governance at Purdue-West Lafayette.

The University Senate requests that Purdue administration and Board of Trustees meet with comprehensive Senate leadership (including standing committee chairs) to better understand this statement with the goal of joint acceptance.

Educational Policy Committee Votes:

For:

Faculty

Eric Kvam Alice Pawley

Vanessa Quinn

Libby Richards

Thomas Siegmund

Against:

Faculty Thomas Brush John Sheffield Todor Cooklev Jennifer Freeman

Abstained:

Students Elli DiDonna

Advisors Keith Gehres Jenna Rickus Jeffery Stefancic

Absent:

Faculty Erik Otárola-Castillo Li Qiao Antônio Sá Barreto Jeffrey X. Watt

Ex Officio (non voting):

Jaclyn Palm John Pearson

Students

Janelle Grant Olivia Wyrick

Advisors

Jeff Elliott

Juan Sesmero Ann Weil

Yuan Yao

University Resources Policy Committee Votes (per unrevised document as presented 21 March 2022):

<u>For:</u>	<u>Against:</u>	Abstained:	Absent:
Faculty	Faculty	Faculty	Faculty
Eugene Chan	John McConnell	Tony Vyn	Victor Chen
James Greenan		Laura Claxon	Lori Hoagland
Janice Kritchevsky			Cara Kinnally
Doug LaCount			Lin Nan

Advisors Michael Cline Carl Krieger

Students Austin Berenda Sophie Braun Neha Shokelly

Faculty Affairs Committee Votes:

<u>For:</u>	<u>Against:</u>	Abstained:	Absent:
Faculty Edward Fox Stephen Hooser Signe Kastberg David Koltick Lata Krishnan Eric Waltenburg Steve Yaninek			Faculty Charles Bouman Min Chen Jozef Kokini Angeline Lyon Brian Richert John Springer

Advisors

Lisa Mauer

Advisors Peter Hollenbeck