



**To:** The University Senate From: Faculty Affairs Committee

**Subject:** International Harassment of Purdue Students and Family

Members

**Reference:** Sebastian Rotella, "Even on U.S. Campuses, China Cracks Down on

Students Who Speak Out" ProPublica, 30 November 2021

Open Letter from President Mitch Daniels, Purdue University, 31

January 2022

**Disposition:** University Senate for Discussion and Action

**Rationale:** President Mitch Daniels has taken a courageous stand on behalf of

Purdue University regarding the dissemination of ideas and of unrestricted discussion and debate in search of truth in an open letter,

which has been widely distributed.

This letter alerts us to and outlines the unacceptable harassment of an international student that has taken place on the Purdue Campus, and, remarkably, an expansion of the harassment at the international level by government officials of the student's family overseas. These acts were done in concert in order to suppress open discussion and debate, which is an attack on the fundamental core of what Purdue is and what it stands for.

President Daniels has pointed out that Purdue University is a force on the international scale and that its core principles are invariant. As stated distinctly in the open letter,

[J]oining the Purdue community requires acceptance of its rules and values, and no value is more central to our institution or to higher education generally than the freedom of inquiry and expression. Those seeking to deny those rights to others, let alone to collude with foreign governments in repressing them, will need to pursue their education elsewhere.

## **Proposal:**

The University Senate is faculty and student body of Purdue University are in complete agreement that someone who would abrogate the freedom of inquiry and expression of any member of the Purdue University body or its guests or collude with a foreign government to do the same, will "be subject to significant sanction," as noted out in the letter from President Daniels.

## **Committee Votes:**

For:	Against:	Abstained:	Absent:
Faculty Min Chen Edward Fox Signe Kastberg Jozef Kokini David Koltick Lata Krishnan John Springer Eric Waltenburg Steve Yaninek			Faculty Charles Bouman Stephen Hooser Angeline Lyon Brian Richert
<b>Advisors</b> Lisa Mauer			<b>Advisors</b> Peter Hollenbeck