DRAFT: October 31, 2023

Faculty Promotion and Tenure Committee Structure and Function for Purdue in Indianapolis (PIN) faculty with the tenure home of University Tenure in Indianapolis

A. Primary Committee

There are two primary committees for PIN faculty with the faculty tenure home of University Tenure in Indianapolis structured around disciplinary areas: one for all technology faculty, and one for all engineering and computer science faculty. The primary committee for the technology disciplinary area is chaired by the associate dean for faculty affairs for the Purdue Polytechnic Institute. The primary committee for the engineering and computer science disciplinary area is chaired by the associate dean for faculty affairs for the College of Engineering. The chair of the primary committee serves as a non-voting member.

The primary committee membership is comprised of all PIN faculty holding University Tenure in Indianapolis of higher rank in the respective disciplinary area than the faculty member being considered for promotion and/or tenure. The committee must consist of at least seven PIN faculty holding University Tenure in Indianapolis (associate and full professors) for cases of tenure and/or promotion to associate professor, and at least seven PIN full professor faculty holding University Tenure in Indianapolis for voting on cases of promotion to professor. When this minimum number is not available in the candidate's disciplinary area amongst the PIN faculty holding University Tenure in Indianapolis, additional tenured professors from PWL disciplinary areas are appointed by the chair of the area committee to which the primary committee reports (described in section B), following consultation with the appropriate department head and associate dean for faculty affairs.

B. Area Committee

The area committee for PIN faculty with the tenure home of University Tenure in Indianapolis is chaired by the Sr. Vice Provost for Purdue in Indianapolis, who serves as a non-voting member. Membership is comprised of eight voting members as follows:

- 1. The chairs of the two primary committees for PIN faculty with the faculty tenure home of University Tenure in Indianapolis
- 2. Three tenured faculty members at the rank of professor from each primary committee elected by the voting faculty of the applicable PIN disciplinary area in accordance with procedures established by that faculty. If a CS faculty member is being considered for promotion, one of the area committee members must be from CS. At least one-third of the membership of the area committee consists of tenured faculty members without administrative responsibilities.

Notes:

• The resolution authorizing the creation of university tenure for certain faculty appointments; and authorizing actions necessary and appropriate in connection

therewith was Board Approved on August 4, 2023. A link to that resolution is provided here: https://www.purdue.edu/bot/meetings/past-meetings/2023/07.%20aug/stated/University%20Tenure%20.pdf

 The Provost issues an annual memorandum to inform all members of the Tenured and Tenure-track Faculty of Purdue University of the policies and procedures that are followed in recommending them for tenure and/or promotion to a higher academic rank. The most recent version is accessible here: <u>https://www.purdue.edu/provost/faculty/documents/promotion-memo-tenured-2023-24.pdf</u>. Details of the PIN University Tenure faculty promotion and tenure committee structure will be incorporated into future memoranda and reviewed on an annual basis.