TO: The University Senate

FROM: University Senate Steering Committee SUBJECT: Reapportionment of the University Senate

REFERENCE: University Senate Document 90-5; University Code D 3.00; Bylaws of the University

Senate, Items 2.00 and 2.01

DISPOSITION: University Senate for Approval and Faculty Units

Section D 3.00 of the University Code and the Bylaws of the University Senate, provide that the University Senate shall be composed of one hundred two members. Ten of these are specified in the items 1 through 10 below. The other slots will be apportioned among the West Lafayette faculty units, according to the number of faculty members, with the provision that no faculty unit shall have fewer than two Senators. There are 2135 voting faculty members at the West Lafayette campus. When this number is divided by ninety-two the result is 23.21. Therefore, to qualify for two Senators, a faculty unit should have at least 46 voting faculty members. However, since no faculty unit can have fewer than two Senators, the Libraries unit qualifies for two Senators with 31 faculty members. The remaining units have a total of 2104 voting faculty members with ninety Senate seats remaining to be apportioned among them. The apportionment of Senators for each of these remaining units was obtained by dividing the number of voting faculty in the faculty unit by 23.21. The results are as follows: Agriculture, 13.14; Education, 3.10; Engineering, 17.71; Health & Human Sciences, 9.95; Liberal Arts, 11.59; Management, 4.78; Pharmacy, 3.58; Science, 13.57; Purdue Polytechnic Institute, 8.53; Veterinary Medicine, 4.70. In order to achieve the desired 90 Senators, the Colleges of Science and Pharmacy and the Purdue Polytechnic Institute were closest to being below 0.50 and thus were assigned values of 13, 3, and 8 Senators, respectively. The remaining eight units were rounded to the nearest integer.

J	No. Voting Fac. Members 12 November 2018	Number of Senators 2019-2020	No. Voting Fac. Members 5 November 2019	Number of Senators 2020-2021
Areas Represented				
 President 		1		1
Chief Academic Officer		1		1
Chief Fiscal Officer		1		1
Chairperson of the Senate		1		1
Vice-Chairperson of the Senate		1		1
Purdue Northwest		1		1
7. Fort Wayne Campus		1		1
8. IUPUI Campus		1		1
Undergraduate Student		1		1
10. Graduate Student		1		1
11. Faculty Units				
Agriculture	310	13	305	13
Education	72	3	72	3
Engineering	418	18	411	18
Health & Human Science		10	231	10
Liberal Arts	274	11	269	12
Libraries	32	2	31	2
Management	111	5	111	5
Pharmacy	81	3	83	3
Science	333	14	315	13
Purdue Polytechnic	200	8	198	8
Veterinary Medicine	<u>118</u>	<u> 5 </u>	<u>109</u>	<u> 5 </u>
	2181	102	2135	102

Approving

Cheryl Cooky Ariel de la Fuente Deborah Nichols Jeff Rhoads Dharmendra Saraswat Hong Tan