Skip to main content

Mathematics professors add significant awards


Prof. Brown
Prof. Johnny E. Brown

The Department of Mathematics faculty received significant honors and awards in the spring semester.

Prof. Johnny E. Brown was voted “Best Professor” by readers of The Exponent in the newspaper’s 2013 Readers’ Choice Awards feature. While popular with the students, Brown has published numerous papers, was a Charles B. Murphy Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award-winner and heads the graduate program for Mathematics. In 1990, he became the department’s first African-American full professor.

On May 2, Prof. Jie Shen was among the first to receive a College of Science Inaugural Research Award. Shen was chosen in recognition of his outstanding research in phase-field models and simulations for multiphase complex fluids. Shen presented recent work, which pays particular attention to the development of models valid for problems with large density ratios and obey an energy dissipation law.

Shen gave an overview of his research to students and faculty in LWSN 1142 after receiving his award from Jeff Roberts, the Frederick L. Hovde dean of the College of Science.

Other College of Science faculty receiving Research Awards included Prof. Esteban Fernandez-Juricic (Biological Sciences) and Physics Prof. Matthew Lister. Prof. Frederi Viens (Statistics) will present his work on Aug. 23.

Purdue University College of Science, 150 N. University St, West Lafayette, IN 47907 • Phone: (765) 494-1729, Fax: (765) 494-1736

Student Advising Office: (765) 494-1771, Fax: (765) 496-3015 • Science IT, (765) 494-4488

© 2020 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue ? Please contact the College of Science Webmaster.