Skip to main content

Congratulations to the 2014 Outstanding Alumni


OA 2014

Fourteen names were added to the College of Science Outstanding Alumni ranks Oct. 10 during a reception at Lawson Commons.

All departments and the Actuarial Science program were represented. As usual, the roster of honorees showed the diversity of careers Purdue Science graduates embark upon.

Geophysicists, academics, entrepreneurs, healthcare advocates and many more represented their majors from their days on West Lafayette campus. Some traveled thousands of miles while others drove a short distance.

But all gathered in College of Science and Boilermaker fellowship.

Here are the 2014 College of Science Outstanding Alumni:

  • Jeff Ahbe, Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences
  • Dennis Barket, Chemistry
  • Robert Brunner, Physics and Astronomy
  • Kathleen Campbell, Computer Science
  • Dennis S. Corrigan, Chemistry
  • Carolyn D. Deal, Biological Sciences
  • Anne Jackson, Actuarial Science
  • Michael Petersen, Computer Science
  • Eric Simone, Computer Science
  • Anita Singh, Statistics
  • Bin Wang, Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences
  • Jiongmin Yong, Mathematics
  • Lynn Young, Physics and Astronomy

Bill Coleman, a Biological Sciences alumnus, was honored posthumously. The longtime director at the National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities office at the National Institutes of Health passed away in August, shortly after accepting the invitation to become an Outstanding Alumnus. He was represented by daughters Dr. Melissa Coleman and Natasha Coleman.

Purdue University College of Science, 150 N. University St, West Lafayette, IN 47907 • Phone: (765) 494-1729, Fax: (765) 494-1736

Student Advising Office: (765) 494-1771, Fax: (765) 496-3015 • Science IT, (765) 494-4488

© 2021 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact the College of Science Webmaster.