Skip to main content

Several Science faculty members receive national honors


Hilkka Kenttamaa

Hilkka Kenttämaa is among the 2016 Purdue Science faculty members to be awarded fellowships from the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Just one week after being named the Frank Brown Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, Hilkka Kenttämaa joins Chemistry professor emeritus Fred Lytle, Computer Science professor Elisa Bertino, and Biological Sciences professors William Cramer, Andrew DeWoody and Barbara Golden as fellows in the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

These College of Science superstars are among the 391 fellows that were inducted today. These individuals have been elevated to this rank because of their efforts toward advancing science applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished. New fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Feb. 18 at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the 2017 AAAS Annual Meeting in Boston.

  • Kenttamaa was nominated for distinguished contributions to the field of organic mass spectrometry, particularly for research on distonic radical cations and new ionization and structural characterization methods.
  • Lytle was inducted “for distinguished contributions to the field of analytical chemistry, particularly the use of picosecond lasers for time-resolved and two-photon excited molecular fluorescence.” After retiring from Purdue, Lytle started Indigo BioAutomation in Indianapolis. The company works with the latest in software automation and artificial intelligence research for the goal to create better processes in laboratories across the nation.
  • Bertino got the nod for her “distinguished contributions to information and computer security.”
  • Golden gets her fellowship “for numerous key and substantial contributions to the field of RNA structural biology and biochemistry.”
  • DeWoody was honored for his “substantive contributions to the fields of wildlife and fisheries genetics, particularly for extending the theory and practice of parentage analysis in molecular ecology and conservation genetics.”
  • Cramer deserves praise for his “distinguished contributions to the fields of structural biology of membrane proteins involved in photosynthetic electron transport and of colicin transport outer-membrane proteins.”

Craig Svensson, interim dean of the College of Science, was also honored for his work “in pharmacokinetics, drug metabolism and disposition, and for excellence in administrative contributions as division head and dean.” Svensson is also the dean of the College of Pharmacy.

The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of Fellow if nominated by the steering group of their respective sections, by three Fellows, or by the Association's chief executive officer. Each steering group then reviews the nominations of individuals within its respective section and forwards a final list to the AAAS Council.

The AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal, Science as well as Science Translational Medicine, Science Signaling, a digital, open-access journal, Science Advances, Science Immunology, and Science Robotics. AAAS was founded in 1848 and includes nearly 250 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals. Science has the largest paid circulation of any peer-reviewed general science journal in the world. The non-profit AAAS is open to all and fulfills its mission to “advance science and serve society” through initiatives in science policy, international programs, science education, public engagement.

Purdue University College of Science, 150 N. University St, West Lafayette, IN 47907 • Phone: (765) 494-1729, Fax: (765) 494-1736

Student Advising Office: (765) 494-1771, Fax: (765) 496-3015 • Science IT, (765) 494-4488

© 2020 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue ? Please contact the College of Science Webmaster.