Skip to main content

Rodent Workshops

We will be offering the following training workshops with a maximum of 6 participants in each session. (If you have any questions or special requests, please do not hesitate to contact Carol Dowell; 765-494-2521 or dowellc@purdue.edu)

These hands-on workshops are designed to introduce the participant to the basic techniques in the laboratory rat and mouse. The Handling/Restraint workshop is a prerequisite for participation in all other workshops; unless participant has had previous training and/or experience in this area. A minimum of 3 days’ notice is requested for cancellation.

We will continue to follow COVID safety protocols. All participants will come wearing a face mask.

Workshops are filled on a first-come, first-serve basis! Workshops are free to personnel tied to Purdue protocols, Purdue staff/faculty. You are encouraged to participate in workshops that are directly related to techniques in your protocol. Participants must be familiar with their project/protocol and techniques required of their protocol prior to attending class!

REGISTRATION:

Location for the following workshops – Meet in Lily Hall 3-114.

Basics of Rodent Handling, Restraint, and Normal Behavior (Rat & Mouse)
8/20/2021 - Friday 8:30 am – 10:30 am
8/23/2021 - Monday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm
8/26/2021 - Thursday 8:30 am – 10:30 am
9/1/2021 - Wednesday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm
9/14/2021 - Tuesday 8:30 am – 10:30 am
9/27/2021 - Monday 8:30 am – 10:30 am
10/14/2021 - Thursday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm
10/26/2021 - Tuesday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm
11/10/2021 - Wednesday 8:30 am – 10:30 am
12/6/2021 - Monday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm Sign Up
Injections in the rat and mouse; ID, IM, SC, IP
8/24/2021 - Tuesday 8:30 am – 10:30 am
9/2/2021 - Thursday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm
9/13/2021 - Monday 10:00 am – 12:00 pm
9/22/2021 - Wednesday 8:30 am – 10:30 am
10/8/2021 - Friday 8:30 am – 10:30 am
10/18/2021 - Monday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm
11/9/2021 - Tuesday 8:30 am – 10:30 am
12/8/2021 - Wednesday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm Sign Up
Blood Collection in the Rat and Mouse
8/30/2021 - Monday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm
9/14/2021 - Tuesday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm
9/29/2021 - Wednesday 8:30 am – 10:30 am
10/15/2021 - Friday 8:30 am – 10:30 am
11/4/2021 - Thursday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm
12/7/2021 - Tuesday 8:30 am – 10:30 am Sign Up
Tail Vein Injection in the Lab (Rat & Mouse)
9/13/2021 - Monday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm
9/28/2021 - Tuesday 8:30 am – 10:30 am
10/20/2021 - Wednesday 8:30 am – 10:30 am
11/11/2021 - Thursday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm
12/3/2021 - Friday 8:30 am – 10:30 am
Rodent Oral Gavage
8/30/2021 - Monday 10:00 am – 11:30 am
9/28/2021 - Tuesday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm
10/27/2021 - Wednesday 8:30 am – 10:30 am
12/9/2021 - Thursday 8:30 am – 10:30 am Sign Up
Isoflurane Gas Anesthesia
9/15/2021 - Wednesday 8:30 am – 10:30 am
9/30/2021 - Thursday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm
10/4/2021 - Monday 10:00 am – 12:00 pm
11/2/2021 - Tuesday 8:30 am – 10:30 am
11/19/2021 - Friday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Wound closure and Suturing Basics
9/16/2021 - Thursday 8:30 am – 10:30 am
10/4/2021 - Monday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm
11/3/2021 - Wednesday 8:30 am – 10:30 am
Orbital Sinus Injection (As an alternative to tail vein injection)
9/21/2021 - Tuesday 1:00 pm – 2:30 pm
10/20/2021 - Wednesday 1:00 pm – 2:30 pm
Aseptic Technique / Surgical Preparation
9/15/2021 - Wednesday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm
10/5/2021 - Tuesday 8:30 am – 10:30 am
11/4/2021 - Thursday 8:30 am – 10:30 am
Euthanasia / Basic Necropsy / Organ Identification
8/26/2021 - Thursday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm
9/17/2021 - Friday 8:30 am – 10:30 am
10/5/2021 - Tuesday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm
10/18/2021 - Monday 10:00 am – 12:00 pm
11/17/2021 - Wednesday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Combined Techniques * (Prior experience/training in majority of courses is required)
11/18/2021 - Thursday 9:00 am – 11:00 am
Working with Surgical Loops and Dissecting Microscopes
11/5/2021 - Friday 8:30 am – 10:30 am
Optical Loupes for Magnification
No upcoming sessions
Mouse Breeding / Colony Management
9/21/2021 - Tuesday 8:30 am – 10:30 am
10/14/2021 - Thursday 8:30 am – 10:30 am
11/10/2021 - Wednesday 1:00 pm – 2:30 pm

* Combined Techniques: This workshop is designed to incorporate all that you have learned regarding rodent handling, injections, blood collection, anesthesia, surgical prep, wound closure and euthanasia. You should come prepared to practice specific techniques that you will be using in your research.

Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907 (765) 494-4600

© 2021 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of the Executive Vice President for Research and Partnerships

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact Office of the Executive Vice President for Research and Partnerships at vprweb@purdue.edu.