Skip to main content

Rodent Workshops

I will be offering the following training workshops with a maximum of 6 participants per instructor in each session. (If you have any questions or special requests, please do not hesitate to contact me; 765-494-2521 or dowellc@purdue.edu)

These hands-on workshops are designed to introduce the participant to the basic techniques in the laboratory rat and mouse. The Handling/Restraint workshop is a prerequisite for participation in all other workshops; unless participant has had previous training and/or experience in this area. A minimum of 3 days’ notice is requested for cancellation.

PLEASE be respectful and cancel your appointment if you are unable to attend.

Workshops are filled on a first-come, first-serve basis! Workshops are free to personnel tied to Purdue protocols, Purdue staff/faculty. You are encouraged to participate in workshops that are directly related to techniques in your protocol.

Participants must be familiar with their project/protocol and techniques required of their protocol prior to attending class!

Registration

Location for the following workshops – Meet in Lilly Hall room 3-114. (If the following times do not fit your schedule or training needs, I would be happy to set up training for most species on an individual basis.)

Basics of Rodent Handling, Restraint, and Normal Behavior (Rat & Mouse)
1/13/2023 - Friday 8:30 am – 10:30 am
1/17/2023 - Tuesday 8:30 am – 10:30 am
1/25/2023 - Wednesday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm
2/2/2023 - Thursday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm
2/10/2023 - Friday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm Sign Up
2/20/2023 - Monday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm Sign Up
3/7/2023 - Tuesday 8:30 am – 10:30 am Sign Up
3/22/2023 - Wednesday 8:30 am – 10:30 am Sign Up
4/6/2023 - Thursday 8:30 am – 10:30 am Sign Up
4/21/2023 - Friday 8:30 am – 10:30 am Sign Up
4/24/2023 - Monday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm Sign Up
Injections in the rat and mouse; ID, IM, SC, IP
1/20/2023 - Friday 8:30 am – 10:30 am
1/24/2023 - Tuesday 8:30 am – 10:30 am
2/6/2023 - Monday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm Sign Up
2/23/2023 - Thursday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm Sign Up
3/8/2023 - Wednesday 8:30 am – 10:30 am Sign Up
4/6/2023 - Thursday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm Sign Up
4/25/2023 - Tuesday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm Sign Up
Blood Collection in the Rat and Mouse
1/17/2023 - Tuesday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm
2/3/2023 - Friday 8:30 am – 10:30 am Sign Up
2/13/2023 - Monday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm Sign Up
2/28/2023 - Tuesday 8:30 am – 10:30 am Sign Up
3/22/2023 - Wednesday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm Sign Up
4/13/2023 - Thursday 8:30 am – 10:30 am Sign Up
Tail Vein Injection in the Lab (Rat & Mouse)
1/27/2023 - Friday 8:30 am – 10:30 am
2/7/2023 - Tuesday 8:30 am – 10:30 am Sign Up
2/22/2023 - Wednesday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm Sign Up
3/6/2023 - Monday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm Sign Up
3/28/2023 - Tuesday 8:30 am – 10:30 am Sign Up
Rodent Oral Gavage
1/30/2023 - Monday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm
2/14/2023 - Tuesday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm Sign Up
3/9/2023 - Thursday 8:30 am – 10:30 am Sign Up
3/29/2023 - Wednesday 8:30 am – 10:30 am Sign Up
Isoflurane Gas Anesthesia
1/25/2023 - Wednesday 8:30 am – 10:30 am
2/14/2023 - Tuesday 8:30 am – 10:30 am Sign Up
2/27/2023 - Monday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm Sign Up
3/23/2023 - Thursday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm Sign Up
4/14/2023 - Friday 8:30 am – 10:30 am Sign Up
Wound closure and Suturing Basics
2/7/2023 - Tuesday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm Sign Up
2/24/2023 - Friday 8:30 am – 10:30 am Sign Up
3/7/2023 - Tuesday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm Sign Up
4/10/2023 - Monday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm Sign Up
Orbital Sinus Injection (As an alternative to tail vein injection)
2/23/2023 - Thursday 8:30 am – 10:00 am Sign Up
4/12/2023 - Wednesday 1:00 pm – 2:30 pm Sign Up
Aseptic Technique / Surgical Preparation
2/8/2023 - Wednesday 8:30 am – 10:00 am Sign Up
2/24/2023 - Friday 1:00 pm – 2:30 pm Sign Up
3/9/2023 - Thursday 1:00 pm – 2:30 pm Sign Up
4/12/2023 - Wednesday 8:30 am – 10:00 am Sign Up
Euthanasia / Basic Necropsy / Organ Identification / Cardiac Blood Collection
1/20/2023 - Friday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm
2/8/2023 - Wednesday 1:00 pm – 3:00 am Sign Up
2/21/2023 - Tuesday 8:30 am – 10:30 am Sign Up
3/8/2023 - Wednesday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm Sign Up
3/27/2023 - Monday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm Sign Up
4/13/2023 - Thursday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm Sign Up
Combined Techniques * (Prior experience/training in majority of courses is required)
4/20/2023 - Thursday 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm Sign Up
Working with Surgical Loupes and Dissecting Microscopes
4/21/2023 - Friday 1:00 pm – 2:30 pm Sign Up
Optical Loupes for Magnification
No upcoming sessions
Mouse Breeding / Colony Management
2/2/2023 - Thursday 8:30 am – 10:00 am
3/1/2023 - Wednesday 8:30 am – 10:00 am Sign Up
4/3/2023 - Monday 1:00 pm – 2:30 pm Sign Up

* Combined Techniques: This workshop is designed to incorporate all that you have learned regarding rodent handling, injections, blood collection, anesthesia, surgical prep, wound closure and euthanasia. You should come prepared to practice specific techniques that you will be using in your research.

Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907 (765) 494-4600

© 2023 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Research

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact Office of Research at vprweb@purdue.edu.