Shelley MacDermid Wadsworth, Evgenii Narimanov and Sabre Kais pose with Purdue President Mitch Daniels at the Excellence in Research event on Oct. 28.


The Executive Vice President for Research and Partnerships’ annual Excellence in Research event celebrated the accomplishments and contributions of Purdue’s research community.

More than 230 Purdue faculty and staff gathered on October 28 for the Excellence in Research Awards dinner, celebrating the accomplishments and contributions of Purdue’s research community.

Among the honorees were the recipients of the University’s most prestigious research awards for 2019: Shelley MacDermid Wadsworth, a professor of human development and family studies in the College of Health and Human Sciences, who received the Lu Ann Aday Award; Evgenii Narimanov, a professor of electrical and computer engineering in the College of Engineering, who received the the Arden L. Bement Jr. Award; and Sabre Kais, a professor of chemistry in the College of Science, who received the Herbert Newby McCoy Award.  Visit our website to listen to the honorees’ lectures.

Also recognized were faculty members who had received college or school awards for outstanding research during the 2019 fiscal year. In addition, principal investigators and co-investigators garnering an award of $1 million or more were recognized with the Seed for Success Award. Of the 238 investigators working on one of the 79 Seed for Success projects, 92 investigators earned a bronze acorn award in recognition of their contribution acquiring a $1 million or more award for the first time. View our photo gallery.