Marquis Z. Hodes, MSc, MD, PhD


  • Hebrew University: Jerusalem – General Studies (1970)
  • Indiana University: B.A. Biology (1973)
  • Indiana University School of Medicine, M.Sc. in Medical Genetics (1976)
  • Cornell University Graduate School of Medicine Sciences: Sloan-Kettering Division, Ph.D. (1984)
  • Indiana University School of Medicine, M.D. (1991)

Internships, Residency, and Fellowships:

  • Riley Hospital for Children: Indianapolis, IN: Pediatric Internship & Residency (1991-1994)
  • University of Minnesota Hospital & Clinic: Minneapolis, MN: Pediatric Hematology-Oncology Fellowship (1994-1998)

 Professional Interests & Specializations: 

  • Hematology/Immunology
  • Men’s Health

Length of time at PUSH:

Before coming to PUSH in 2009 I worked in a Community Health Clinic in Anderson, IN in General Pediatrics.  Prior to that I worked in Pediatric Hematology-Oncology at the Ochsner Clinic in New Orleans, LA (until blown North by Hurricane Katrina) and prior to that I worked in Bone Marrow Transplantation at the Albany Medical College in Albany, NY.

Why do you like working at PUSH?

I have enjoyed working at PUSH because of the patient population (young, intelligent and NOT chronically ill or dying), and because of the variety of medical conditions and diversity of the student population. 

What is your philosophy of care? 

I try to tailor care to the patients’ inclinations, within the bounds of good medical practice.  Our students are a very diverse group and have differing traditions and cultural inclinations with regard to medical care.  This is part of what makes practicing medicine at Purdue such a challenging and fascinating proposition.  Guiding students in making informed choices and offering alternatives when evidence-based alternatives are available is part of the challenge and reward of working in the University setting.

What do you like to do when you’re not at PUSH?

When not providing medical care I like to cook foods from around the world for my family (everything from crepes to dosa and carbonnade to curry, hummus, multiple kinds of dumplings and savory pies).  I cultivate orchids (mostly ‘miniature’ species). I also read mysteries, sci-fi and fantasy novels.  I love to hike or morel-hunt in the outdoors and in my younger days enjoyed sailing on both lakes and the ocean.  I share my home with a macho lovebird (named Valentino) and an (in her mind) devine Great Pyrenees (named Athena) – and a lot of fur and feathers no longer attached to either. 

 Fun Fact about me:

I serve as Associate Chair or the Purdue Biomedical Institutional Review Board (Human Research Subjects Protection).