New Department Head Program

Download Schedule | Download Fall Retreat Schedule | Download Spring Retreat Schedule

2019 Dates Program
Thursday, August 29 
12 PM – 5 PM

New Department Head Fall Retreat
Navigating your Journey as a Head
See separate schedule

Presentation Materials:

12:40 pm - Provost Jay Akridge

13:10 pm - Steve Abel DH Fall Retreat

15:00 pm - Amy Boyle and Monica Bloom

16:00 pm - Marion Underwood

Who you gonna call 2019

Thursday, September 19 
11:30 AM – 1 PM
Lunch from 11:30-12

Promotion and Tenure
Mitch Daniels, President (Speaking 11:30am to 12:00pm)

Peter Hollenbeck, Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs

Thursday, October 17 
11:30 AM – 1 PM
Lunch from 11:30-12

Searching and Recruiting New Hires 
Rosie Clawson, Professor of Political Science

Immigration Sponsorship
Amanda Thompson, Director, International Scholar Services

Thursday, November 21 
11:30 AM – 1 PM
Lunch from 11:30-12
Financial Management
Cherise Hall, Associate Provost for Finance and Administration
Kristi Mickle, Senior Director, Business Management Director of Financial Affairs
Eva Nodine, Senior Director, Financial Planning & Analysis

2020 Dates Program

Thursday, January 23 
12 PM – 5 PM

New Department Head Mid-Year Retreat
Diversity and Inclusion
John Gates, Vice Provost for Diversity and Inclusion
See Separate Schedule

Presentation Materials:

13:10-13:30 pm Peter Hollenbeck 

13:30-13:50 pm Christie Wright 

14:00-17:00 pm John Gates 

Thursday, February 20 
11:30 AM – 1 PM
Lunch from 11:30-12
Harassment and Discrimination; Compliance with Legal Issues in Higher Education 
Alysa Rollock, Vice Provost for Ethics and Compliance

Thursday, March 26
11:30 AM – 1 PM
Lunch from 11:30-12 

Faculty Mentoring
Chris Agnew, Associate Vice President for Research, Regulatory Affairs

Thursday, April 16
11:30 AM – 1 PM
Lunch from 11:30-12

Opportunity for Discussion and Feedback on Current Issues 
Amy Boyle, Senior Director, Human Resources
Peter Hollenbeck, Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs
Trent Klingerman,  Assistant Legal Counsel
Alysa Rollock, Vice President for Ethics and Compliance
Christie Wright, Director, Office of Institutional Equity

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2016-2017 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of the Provost

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact Office of The Provost at