Jump to main page content
Purdue signature

Teaching for Tomorrow Award Nomination Process

Each college/school is invited to nominate two to four assistant professors (or recently promoted associate professors) depending on the number of teaching faculty in the college/school (see table below) and one senior faculty member. From these nominees, up to twelve assistant professors and three senior faculty members will be selected for the program. The senior faculty members will serve as team leaders. Assistant professors who are nominated should have demonstrated potential as teachers and senior faculty should have been recognized previously at the college/school or University level for their teaching excellence.

Each Teaching for Tomorrow (TFT) Fellow selected will receive $1,000 in professional development funds for use in enhancing his/her teaching program. Senior faculty, as team leaders, will receive $2,000 in faculty development funds and their respective departments will receive $2,500 to help offset release time for the senior faculty team leader to work with the program.

Each faculty nominee is asked to provide a one-page statement of why he/she would like to be part of this program and a two-page vitae that includes courses taught. The one-page statement should include a paragraph outlining the nominee’s teaching strengths.

Faculty nominees are selected within each college/school and forward through the dean to Dr. Nancy Bulger, Assistant Provost. Selections are made by a committee of faculty and administrators. Every effort is made to establish cohort groups that have a potential for maximum interaction.

Announcements of award recipients are made in late April. The program begins in August and ends the following May.


(All nominees must be tenure-track or clinical faculty)

1. One senior faculty member from each school/college.
2. Assistant professors (or recently promoted associate professors). On the basis of estimated faculty involvement in teaching, the permissible number of nominees from each school/college will be:

Two (2) Health and Human Sciences
Two (2) Education
Two (2) Management
Two (2) Pharmacy
Two (2) Veterinary Medicine
Two (2) Agriculture
Three (3) Technology
Four (4) Engineering
Four (4) Liberal Arts
Four (4) Science