Jump to main page content
Purdue signature

University Faculty Scholars

The University Faculty Scholars Program recognizes outstanding faculty members at the West Lafayette campus who are on an accelerated path for academic distinction.  Eligible faculty must hold the rank of tenured associate or full professor and have been in that rank for no more than five years.  Faculty Scholars are appointed for a nonrenewable five year term and receive an annual $10,000 discretionary allocation.

*Showalter Scholars

College of Agriculture

  • Scott Briggs, Biochemistry
  • Indrajeet Chaubey, Agriculture and Biological Engineering
  • J. Andrew DeWoody, Forestry and Natural Resources
  • Jeffrey Dukes, Forestry and Natural Resources
  • Catherine Hill, Entomology*
  • Greg J. Hunt, Entomology
  • Joseph Irudayaraj, Agricultural and Biological Engineering
  • Doug Jacobs, Forestry and Natural Resources
  • Ann Kirchmaier, Biochemistry
  • Jianxin Ma, Agronomy
  • Lisa J. Mauer, Food Sciences
  • Dev Niyogi, Agronomy
  • Bryan Pijanowski, Forestry and Natural Resources
  • Marshall Porterfield, Agricultural and Biological Engineering
  • Weigou 'Andy' Tao, Biochemistry

College of Education

  • Emily Buock, Educational Studies
  • Brenda Capobianco, Curriculum and Instruction

College of Engineering

  • Barrett S. Caldwell, Industrial Engineering
  • William Chappell, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Gary Cheng, Industrial Engineering
  • Ji-Xin Cheng, Biomedical Engineering
  • David S. Corti, Chemical Engineering
  • Timothy S. Fisher, Mechanical Engineering
  • Y. Charlie Hu, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Pedro Irazoqui, Biomedical Engineering*
  • Dan Jiao, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • David J. Love, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Eric Nauman, Mechanical Engineering
  • Alyssa Panitch, Biomedical Engineering
  • Steven Pekarek, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Dimitrois Peroulis, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Steven Son, Mechanical Engineering
  • Alejandro H. Strachan, Materials Engineering
  • Amit H. Varma, Civil Engineering
  • Peide Ye, Electrical and Computer Engineering

College of Health and Human Sciences

  • Lisa Goffman, Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences
  • Shuang Liu, Health Sciences
  • Mahalakshmi Sivasankar, Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences
  • Dorothy Teegarden, Nutrition Science

College of Liberal Arts

  • Daniel Aldrich, Political Science
  • Caroline Janney, History
  • Daniel Kelly, Philosophy
  • Sarah Mustillo, Sociology
  • Inigo Sanchez-Liama, Languages and Cultures
  • Daniel W. Smith, Philosophy
  • Krishnamurthy Sriramesh, Communication
  • Fenggang Yang, Sociology


  • Michael Fosmire, Libraries

School of Management

  • Subramanian Balachander, Management
  • Justin L. Tobias, Economics

College of Pharmacy

  • Eric Barker, Medicinal Chem & Molecular Pharmacology
  • Lynne Taylor, Industrial and Physical Pharmacy
  • Val J. Watts, Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology

College of Science

  • Saugata Basu, Mathematics
  • Jue Chen, Biological Sciences
  • Yong Chen, Physics
  • Matthew P. Huber
  • Daisuke Kihara, Biological Sciences*
  • Luis M. Kruczenski, Physics
  • Zhao-Qing Luo, Biological Sciences
  • Sunil Prabhakar, Computer Science
  • P. V. Ramachandran, Chemistry
  • Garth Simpson, Chemistry
  • Andrew Toms, Mathematics
  • Jeff Trapp, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
  • Jan Vitek, Computer Science
  • Olga Vitek, Statistics
  • Dongbin Xiu, Mathematics
  • Dongyan Xu, Computer Science

College of Technology

  • Nicoletta Adamo-Villani, Computer Graphics Technology
  • Bedrich Benes, Computer Graphics Technology
  • Thomas J. Hacker, Computer and Information Technology
  • Qingyou Han, Mechanical Engineering Technology
  • Nathan Hartman, Computer Graphics Technology
  • Yi Jiang, Building Construction Management Technology
  • Michael Kane, Computer Information Technology

School of Veterinary Medicine

  • Larry Adams, Veterinary Clinical Sciences
  • Laurent Couetil, Veterinary Clincial Sciences
  • Sophie Lelievre, Basic Medical Sciences
  • George Moore, Comparative Pathobiology