2021 Faculty Awards Convocation Awardees

Teaching Awards Announced by Peter Hollenbeck

Charles B. Murphy Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching

  • Shelley Claridge, Chemistry
  • Natasha Duncan, Honors College
  • Andrew Freed, Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences
  • Esteban Garcia Bravo, Computer Graphics Technology
  • Karen Marais, Aeronautics and Astronautics

Exceptional Early Career Award

  • Megha Anwer, Honors College
  • Ann Loomis, Nursing
  • Greg Strimel, Technology, Leadership, and Innovation

Purdue Online Excellence in Course Design & Teaching (for Credit)

  • Mark Mabrito, English

Purdue Online Excellence in Course Design & Teaching (Non Credit – Team Award)

  • Christian Butzke, Food Science
  • Yu-Ju Lin, Teaching and Learning Technologies

Purdue Online Innovative Course Design & Use of Technology Award (Team Award)

  • Ali El Gamal, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Tuhin Dey, Teaching and Learning Technologies

Purdue Online Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Award

  • Natasha Watkins, Human Development and Family Studies

Teaching Academy Inductees – Fellows


  • Elizabeth Flaherty, Forestry and Natural Resources
  • Jane Krause, Pharmacy Practice
  • Lata Krishnan, Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences
  • Wen-wen Tung, Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences
  • Adam Watkins, Honors College


  • Dennis Buckmaster, Agricultural and Biological Engineering
  • Elizabeth Karcher, Animal Sciences
  • Amy Nagle, Nursing
  • Jenna Rickus, Agricultural and Biological Engineering
  • Jason Ware, Honors College
  • Zachary Weber, Pharmacy

Teaching for Tomorrow Award  – Senior Fellows

  • Erika Birgit Kaufmann, Mathematics
  • Elizabeth Richards, Nursing
  • William Watson, Curriculum and Instruction

Teaching for Tomorrow Award  -- Junior Fellows

  • Kristofer Chang Alexander, Hospitality and Tourism Management
  • Megha Anwer, Honors College
  • Elizabeth B. Brite, Honors College
  • Andrea DeMaria, Health and Human Sciences
  • Charna Greenwell, Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences
  • Sarah Huber, Libraries
  • Adrie Koehler-Blair, Curriculum and Instruction
  • Franki Kung, Psychological Sciences
  • Sarah LaRose, Youth Development and Agricultural Education
  • Ann Loomis, Nursing
  • Margaret Phillips, Libraries
  • Jamie Woodyard, Pharmacy Practice
  • Haizhao Yang, Mathematics
  • Mitchell Zischke, Forestry and Natural Resources

Research and Scholarship Awards Announced by Peter Hollenbeck

Herbert Newby McCoy Award

  • Chris Greene, Physics and Astronomy

Arden L. Bement Jr. Award

  • Kaushik Roy, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Lu Ann Aday Award

  • Jayson Lusk, Agricultural Economics

Clifford B. Kinley Trust Award

  • Jorge Banda, Public Health
  • Anindya Bhadra, Statistics
  • Edward Delp, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Heather Eicher-Miller, Nutrition Science
  • Anna Erwin, Forestry and Natural Resources
  • Shih-Chun Kao, Health and Kinesiology
  • Zhao Ma, Forestry and Natural Resources
  • Trenton Mize, Sociology
  • Elizabeth Richards, Nursing
  • Douglas Samuel, Psychological Sciences
  • Sara Schmitt, Human Development and Family Studies

Helen B. Schleman Gold Medallion

  • Melissa Gruver, Associate Director for Civic Engagement & Leadership Development

Sigma Xi Faculty Research Award 2020

  • Fabio Ribeiro, Chemical Engineering

Sigma Xi Mid-Career Award

  • Arezoo Ardekani, Mechanical Engineering

Trailblazer Awards

  • Sara Schmitt, Human Development and Family Studies
  • Louis Tay, Psychological Sciences

University Faculty Scholars

  • Arezoo Ardekani, Mechanical Engineering
  • Sergey Chernenko, Management
  • Candace Croney, Comparative Pathobiology
  • Lori Czerwionka, Languages and Cultures
  • Libai Huang, Chemistry
  • Anjali Iyer-Pascuzzi, Botany and Plant Pathology
  • Zhao Ma, Forestry and Natural Resources
  • Jennifer Neville, Computer Science
  • Sonak Pastakia, Pharmacy Practice
  • Timothee Pourpoint, Aeronautics and Astronautics
  • Katy Rainey, Agronomy
  • Jake Ricker-Gilbert, Agricultural Economics
  • Mandy Rispoli, Educational Studies
  • Anne Traynor, Educational Studies
  • Juan Wachs, Industrial Engineering
  • Dana Weinstein, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Kelly Wilson, Management
  • Song Zhang, Mechanical Engineering
  • Qi “Tony” Zhou, Industrial and Physical Pharmacy

Showalter Faculty Scholar

  • Marguerite O’Haire, Comparative Pathobiology
  • Rong Huang, Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology
  • Yulia Pushkar, Physics and Astronomy
  • Nicholas Noinaj, Biological Sciences

Engagement Awards Announced by Peter Hollenbeck

Christian J. Foster Award

  • Selcen Guzey, Education

Faculty Engagement Fellow Award

  • Bo Beaulieu, Agriculture

Faculty Engagement Scholar Award

  • Laura Bofferding, Education
  • Darrin Karcher, Agriculture

Jefferson Award by Multiplying Good  


  • Nadine Dolby, Curriculum Studies
  • Levon Esters, Agricultural Sciences Education & Communication
  • Kimber Nicoletti-Martinez, Agricultural Sciences Education & Communication


  • Kely Paez Urbano, Languages and Cultures
  • Donna Zoss, Nutrition Science

Outstanding Leadership in Globalization Award

  • Mesut Akdere, Technology, Leadership and Innovation

Scholarship of Engagement Fellows

  • Brady Brewer, Agricultural Economics
  • Rashmi Deodeshmukh, Polytechnic Institute
  • Rakhi Karwa, Pharmacy Practice
  • Krishna Nemali, Horticulture and Landscape Architecture
  • Deepti Pillai, Comparative Pathobiology
  • Yumary Ruiz, Department of Public Health
  • Vicki Simpson, Nursing
  • Jason Ware, Honors College

Service Learning Award

  • Rebecca Johnson, Nursing

Leadership Awards Announced by Peter Hollenbeck

Violet B. Haas Award - Susan Bulkeley Butler Center for Leadership Excellence

  • Melissa Remis, Anthropology

Big Ten Academic Alliance Leadership Program Fellows

  • Kimberly Buhman, Nutrition Science
  • David Corti, Chemical Engineering
  • Levon Esters, Agricultural Sciences Education & Communication
  • Melanie Morgan, Graduate School
  • Derek Pacheco, English

Susan Bulkeley Butler Center for Leadership Excellence - Leadership in Action Award

  • Daniel DeLaurentis, Aeronautics and Astronautics
  • Valeria Sinclair-Chapman, Political Science

Focus Award

  • James McClure, Mathematics

Provost Fellows

  • Jennifer Dobbs-Oates, Human Development and Family Studies
  • Nastasha Johnson, Library Science
  • Chris Lukasik, English
  • Jennifer Simpson, Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences
  • Henry Williams, Management

Purdue Insights Forum Fellows

  • Megha Anwer, Honors College
  • Jennifer Freeman, Health Sciences
  • Jennifer Freeman Marshall, English
  • Stephanie Gardner, Biological Sciences
  • Siddika Selcen Guzey, Curriculum and Instruction
  • Nathan Hartman, Computer Graphics Technology
  • Jan Hawkins, Veterinary Clinical Sciences
  • Nicole Key, Mechanical Engineering
  • Tamara Kinzer-Ursem, Biomedical Engineering
  • Ninghui Li, Computer Science
  • Susan Feng Lu, Management
  • Maria Marshall, Agricultural Economics
  • Robert Sabol, Design, Art and Performance
  • Megan Sapp Nelson, Libraries
  • Jennifer Simpson, Speech, Language & Hearing Sciences
  • Robert Stahelin, Pharmacy

Class of 1922 Outstanding Innovation in Helping Students Learn Award


  • Zachary Weber, Pharmacy Practice


  • Stewart C. Chang Alexander, Public Health           
  • Kristofer J. Chang Alexander, Hospitality and Tourism Management

Morrill Awards Annnounced by Provost Jay Akridge

  • Marcy Towns, Chemistry

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2023-2024 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of the Provost

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact Office of The Provost at purdueprovost@purdue.edu.