Jump to page content
A Web Letter from the Office of the Provost - October 2020
Trustees propose task force to address racial equality

By Mary Jane Chew

Faculty Advisory Committee on Diversity and Inclusion announced

Work is underway for the newly reconstituted Faculty Advisory Committee on Diversity and Inclusion.

The original committee, formed in 2015 by then-Provost Deba Dutta, was charged with developing a plan for guiding and directing initiatives aimed at building a more diverse and inclusive Purdue. The major work of the committee resulted in a plan that has guided diversity and inclusion efforts for several years.

Jay Akridge, provost and executive vice president for academic affairs and diversity, says the newly named committee will build on the original plan.

“Much has changed with respect to Purdue’s efforts in diversity and inclusion since 2015,” said Akridge. “Given this history and current state of our work on diversity and inclusion, it was an appropriate time to revisit the structure and focus of the ACDI, and to re-launch the group(s) with a focus on the future.”  A group of faculty worked with the Office of the Provost over the summer to develop the plan for the new committee.

The role of the new Faculty Advisory Committee on Diversity and Inclusion is to:

  • Advise Purdue’s provost/chief diversity officer, vice provost for diversity and inclusion, and vice provost for faculty affairs on strategies for advancing campus diversity and inclusion generally, and specifically supporting the success of underrepresented faculty.
  • Represent the “pulse” of campus as a conduit for insights and concerns about diversity and inclusion/faculty success across the University.
  • Serve as a sounding board for new strategies and programs aimed at supporting faculty success and building a more diverse, inclusive, and equitable campus.
  • Assist in defining priorities to be pursued for faculty including appropriate metrics to serve as goals for a Faculty ACDI action plan, as well as an assessment of current initiatives for optimal impact in recruitment, retention, and overall success of faculty, and especially underrepresented faculty..
  • Assist in the preparation and dissemination of a summary report at the end of each year to highlight progress/challenges on specific faculty diversity and inclusion goals.
  • Serve as ambassadors/liaisons for diversity and inclusion and assist in aligning, communicating, and supporting the faculty initiatives of the Division of Diversity and Inclusion, the vice provost for faculty affairs, and initiatives created and implemented by other units/groups across the university.

Members of the committee:

  • Barb Golden, professor of biochemistry, College of Agriculture
  • Ayse Ciftci, professor of educational studies, College of Education
  • Greg Shaver, professor of mechanical engineering, College of Engineering
  • Kip Williams, distinguished professor of psychological sciences, College of Health and Human Sciences
  • Megha Anwer, clinical assistant professor and director of diversity, inclusion and equity, Honors College
  • Laura Zanotti, professor of anthropology, College of Liberal Arts
  • Annette Bochenek, assistant professor, Libraries and School of Information Studies
  • Meara Habashi, clinical associate professor of management, School of Management
  • Chiwook Park, associate professor of medicinal chemistry and molecular pharmacology, College of Pharmacy
  • Ida Ngambeki, assistant professor of computer and information technology, Polytechnic Institute
  • Tim Filley, professor of earth and atmospheric and planetary sciences, College of Science
  • Paula Johnson, clinical assistant professor of veterinary sciences, College of Veterinary Medicine
  • Candace Croney, professor of comparative pathobiology and animal sciences, Black Caucus of Faculty and Staff representative, Veterinary Medicine
  • Mangala Subramaniam, professor of sociology, director of the Butler Center, Center for Faculty Success representative, College of Liberal Arts
  • Elena Benedicto, professor of English and LaFaSa faculty co-chair for the College of Liberal Arts
  • Audrey Ruple, assistant professor of public health and chair, equity and diversity committee, College of Health of Human Sciences
  • John Gates, vice provost for diversity and inclusion
  • Peter Hollenbeck, vice provost for faculty affairs
  • Jay Akridge, provost and executive vice president for academic affairs and diversity

Terms are to be three years and membership of the Faculty ACDI will rotate, with about  one-third of the membership  changing each year.

The Faculty Advisory Committee on Diversity and Inclusion will provide input to the Purdue Equity Task Force and will be engaged in implementing the recommendations of the Task Force.  There are plans to create and convene similar groups for students and staff.

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact the Webmaster at purdueprovost@purdue.edu
© 2020 Purdue University
An equal access/equal opportunity university