Jump to page content
A Web Letter from the Office of the Provost - October 2019

By Eric Bender

Teaching and Learning

Event honors teaching excellence

The first-ever “Night of Teaching Excellence,” held on Sept. 25, acknowledged and celebrated great teaching across all disciplines on campus.

The event was inspired by one of the themes of the Purdue Road Map for Transformative Undergraduate Education, which is to “understand, support, and value great teaching.”

Jay Akridge, provost and executive vice president for academic affairs and diversity, shared that the event is just the beginning of such celebrations as the university puts a greater focus on teaching excellence.

“You will see us emphasizing exceptional teaching and the value of great teachers,” Akridge said. “For instance, over the summer, we created and rolled out a new career path for continuing lecturers. We will continue the very successful IMPACT program, and Boiler Connect initiative — soon you’ll be hearing about even more initiatives designed to help us maximize the potential of every student.”

The honorees of the night were faculty who had received University-level awards for teaching excellence in the 2018-19 academic year. Their accomplishments were recognized with a personalized glass apple. Honorees included:

150th Anniversary Professors

  • Erica Carlson, Physics and Astronomy
  • David Eichinger, Curriculum and Instruction
  • Christine Hrycyna, Chemistry
  • Charles Krousgrill Jr., Mechanical Engineering
  • Suzanne Nielsen, Food Science
  • William Oakes, Engineering Education
  • Christian Oseto, Entomology
  • Randy Roberts, History
  • David Rollock, Psychological Sciences
  • Kathleen Salisbury, Veterinary Medicine Administration

Class of 1922 Outstanding Innovation in Helping Students Learn Award

  • Becky Good, Nursing
  • Janelle Potetz, Nursing

Distinguished Faculty for Academics

  • Henry Chang, Biological Sciences

Distinguished Faculty for Research

  • Herman Sintim, Chemistry

Excellence in Instruction Award for Continuing Lecturers

  • Cynthia Harwood, Chemistry
  • Sameer Naik, Mechanical Engineering

Exceptional Early Career Award

  • Heather Howard, Libraries and Information Studies
  • Elizabeth Karcher, Animal Sciences

Most Outstanding Faculty

  • Sean Humphrey, Biological Sciences

Provost’s Award for Outstanding Graduate Mentor

  • Jean Chmielewski, Chemistry
  • Lynne Taylor, Industrial and Physical Pharmacy

Purdue Online Innovative Course Design and Use of Technology

  • Kharon Grimmet, Educational Studies
  • Angela Holtsclaw, Educational Studies

Service Learning Award

  • W. Scott Downey, Agricultural Economics
  • Jill Newton, Curriculum and Instruction

Teaching for Tomorrow Fellowship Award

  • Brandon Boor, Civil Engineering
  • Stanley Chan, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Gaurav Chopra, Chemistry
  • Reuben Goforth, Forestry and Natural Resources
  • Nicole Hands, Computer and Information Technology
  • Heather Howard, Libraries and Information Studies
  • Jennifer Johnson, Anthropology
  • Pamela Karagory, Nursing
  • Kristen Kirby, Nursing
  • L. Tiffany Lyle, Comparative Pathobiology
  • Gail Newton, Pharmacy Practice
  • Alissa Russ, Pharmacy Practice
  • Kevin Solomon, Agricultural and Biological Engineering
  • Jason Ware, Honors College
  • Adam Watkins, Honors College
  • Irwin Weiser, English

Teaching Leadership Award

  • Elizabeth Flaherty, Forestry and Natural Resources
  • Kevin Hannon, Basic Medical Sciences
  • Diane Hountz, Nursing
  • Adrie Koehler-Blair, Curriculum and Instruction
  • Sarah LaRose, Ag Sciences Education and Communication
  • Michael Mashtare, Agronomy
  • Jennifer Richardson, Curriculum and Instruction
  • Hui-Hui Wang, Ag Sciences Education and Communication
  • Natasha Watkins, Human Development and Family Studies

The Frederick L. Hovde Faculty Fellow of the Year

  • Andrew Freed, Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences

Charles B. Murphy Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award

  • Jennifer Freeman, Health Sciences
  • Pamela Karagory, Nursing
  • Dawn Laux, Computer and Information Technology
  • Derek Pacheco, English
  • Yvonne Pitts, History

Teaching Academy

  • George Adams, Computer Science
  • Michael Gunderson, Agricultural Economics
  • Cynthia Harwood, Chemistry
  • Amy Heck Sheehan, Pharmacy Practice
  • Kristen Kirby, Nursing
  • Dawn Laux, Computer and Information Technology
  • Michael Mashtare, Agronomy
  • Derek Pacheco, English
  • Yvonne Pitts, History
  • Kristin Villa, Pharmacy Practice

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact the Webmaster at purdueprovost@purdue.edu
© 2019 Purdue University
An equal access/equal opportunity university