Jump to page content
A Web Letter from the Office of the Provost - March 2022

By Mary Jane Chew

Excellence in teaching celebrated with annual awards

The winners of the 2022 Murphy and other teaching awards have been announced. The awards are given to faculty and lecturers for exceptional performance as educators on the West Lafayette campus and in Purdue Polytechnic Institute Statewide Programs.

The University's highest undergraduate teaching honor, the Murphy Award is accompanied by a $10,000 cash award and induction into Purdue's Teaching Academy. Charles B. Murphy was a history professor at Purdue from 1927 to 1970.

The Exceptional Early Career Award recognizes outstanding undergraduate teaching among Purdue's early career, tenure-track faculty. Recipients of the award will receive a $5,000 award with additional funds for a department business account to invest in their teaching program.

The Excellence in Instruction Award for Lecturers honors academic staff with the rank of lecturer for outstanding undergraduate teaching on the West Lafayette campus. Recipients of the award will receive a $5,000 award.

Murphy Award winners are:

Melinda Zook, professor, College of Liberal Arts

Melinda Zook

William Crossley, professor, College of Engineering

William Crossley

Jennifer Dobbs-Oates, clinical associate professor, College of Health and Human Sciences

Jennifer Dobbs-Oates

Milind Kulkarni, associate professor, College of Engineering

Milind Kulkarni

Elizabeth Karcher, associate professor, College of Agriculture 

lizabeth Karcher

Exceptional Early Career Award winners are:

Danny Milisavljevic, assistant professor, College of Science

Danny Milisavljevic

Jason Ware, clinical assistant professor, Purdue Honors College

Jason Ware

The Excellence In Instruction Award winner is:

Beth Hess, senior lecturer, College of Engineering

Beth Hess

See more photos of the 2022 winners here.