December 16, 2022

Appointments, honors and activities

Faculty and staff honors:

- Eugene H. Spafford, professor of computer science and executive director emeritus of CERIAS (Purdue’s Center for Education and Research in Information Assurance and Security), received an Artifacts Competition and Impact Award from the Applied Computer Security Associates conference. Spafford received the Impactful System Award for his paper titled “Tripwire: Pioneering Integrity Scanning for Cybersecurity.” The competition considers submissions of applied cybersecurity artifacts that have been published in previous years in academic or industry venues. In particular, the competition honors previously published applied security artifacts that have demonstrated meaningful impact in the security and privacy research communities. Spafford is a member of the Information Systems Security Association Hall of Fame and Fellow of the ACM and the IEEE.

- Todd Wetzel, assistant vice provost, student life, and executive director of Purdue Convocations/Elliott Hall of Music, has been named a co-chair of APAP/NYC+ and the annual members conference of the Association of Performing Arts Professionals. APAP/NYC+ is the world’s premier gathering of the performing arts presenting, booking, and touring industry. The convention, to be held Jan.13-17 in New York City, is the first in-person gathering of the industry in three years and features extensive networking, performances, showcases and professional development to support the global performing arts field.

- Simina Brânzei, an assistant professor in the Department of Computer Science, was namedKavli Fellow by the National Academy of Sciences. The Kavli Frontiers of Sciences Symposium is the Academy’s premiere activity for distinguished young scientists. A committee of NAS members selected the participants from early-career researchers who have made recognized contributions to science. A total of 185 scientists across disciplines were selected as Kavli Fellows in 2022.

- Shelley M. MacDermid Wadsworth, Ph.D., CFLE, is the 2022 recipient of the Ernest W. Burgess Award, given by the National Council on Family Relations for outstanding scholarly achievement in the study of families. MacDermid Wadsworth is a Distinguished Professor in the Department of Human Development and Family Studies at Purdue University, where she also directs the Military Family Research Institute and the Center for Families. The award’s namesake, Burgess co-founded NCFR and was its fourth president. He was a pioneer in his contributions to marriage and family research.

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-22 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at