July 30, 2021

Appointments, honors and activities

  • Faculty and staff honors:

-  Forty years ago, theorists predicted that a new class of particle, anyons that have distinct statistical properties may exist in nature as well. The problem is that there was no direct observation of an anyon’s unique statistical properties. That is until 2020 when a team from Purdue led Michael Manfra published findings in Nature Physics that demonstrated concrete evidence of the existence of anyons. Because of this extraordinary discovery, Manfra has been selected as a finalist and honoree of the Falling Walls Foundation in the Physical Sciences category. In commemoration of the peaceful fall of the Berlin Wall, the Falling Walls Conference has developed into a world forum for the most important researchers and thinkers to discuss breakthroughs with global leaders in science, politics, and business. Each year, the Falling Walls Foundation seeks to answer the core question: “Which are the next walls to fall in science and society?” Now that Manfra has been honored as a finalist for the Falling Walls, he will have an opportunity to be honored among the Ten Breakthroughs of the Year, which will be presented live on stage in Berlin, Germany and streamed to a global audience on Nov. 9.

-  Rustin Webster, associate professor in the Purdue Polytechnic Institute, has earned the American Society for Engineering Education’s National Engineering Technology Award. The ASEE annually recognizes the outstanding accomplishments of engineering and engineering technology educators each year through its awards program. Webster specializes in mechanical engineering and computer graphics technology. In addition to the ASEE honor, he received the 2021 Purdue Teaching for Tomorrow Fellowship and 2021 Purdue Teaching Academy Pandemic Teaching Award for his teaching and mentoring of students.

-  Two Purdue professors have been inducted into the Indiana Athletic Trainers Association Hall of Fame. Jennifer Popp and Alice Wilcoxson, clinical associate professors in the Department of Health and Kinesiology, were inducted. Both are part of the athletic training education program. They join Scott Lawrence, current athletic training director, and Larry Leverenz, emeritus faculty member, along with Pinky Newell and Denny Miller, and many others with strong Purdue connections. In addition, Leverenz received the IATA Joe Harvey Award. Steven Zhu, a student, earned the organization’s diversity scholarship, and Purdue athletic training students won the Great Lakes Athletic Training Association’s quiz bowls.

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-20 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at purduenews@purdue.edu.