Agriculture News

December 19, 2019

Purdue Extension honors outstanding service at Annual Professional Development Conference

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. – Purdue Extension specialists and educators from across Indiana gathered at the Purdue Memorial Union on Dec. 2-3 for the 2019 Professional Development Conference, an event that provides informative and collaborative opportunities, and a recognition ceremony for outstanding service.

Jason Henderson, senior associate dean and director of Purdue Extension, expressed gratitude for the collective work and service from all Extension staff and faculty, in addition to recognizing several individuals for their significant achievements.

Awards presented include the Director's Award, which was presented to Teresa Rogers, executive assistant to Dean Karen Plaut, who previously served Purdue Extension for more than 15 years. Rogers was instrumental in assisting with numerous strategic initiatives, in addition to her support of Purdue Council for Agricultural Research, Extension, and Teaching (PCARET) and the strong relationships she built with members and external partners. 

The Paul B. Crooks Award was presented to Kathleen Bohde who began her career in 2002 as a 4-H youth development and consumer family science educator in Morgan County, before transferring to Hamilton County in 2004 to work full-time with the 4-H youth development program. Bohde serves as a team member for the Youth Development Academy, which is a training program that all 4-H educators take to enhance their leadership abilities. One of her most recent programs is the Clover Gaming Connection, which started as a SPARK Club and grew into a statewide initiative to help county 4-H programs reach new audiences, engage new youth and grow a new team of volunteers.  

The Outstanding Extension Faculty/Specialist was presented to Larry DeBoer, professor and extension specialist in agricultural economics who has more than 30 years of service to Purdue Extension and the State of Indiana. His many accomplishments include his expertise in economic analysis, which includes the workshops he pioneered on local income taxes for counties and efforts to launch a state lottery, economic analysis of the Indiana property tax system, his recent regional workshop "How the Property Tax Works in Indiana”, a monthly column on economic issues, web-based programs on important local government economic issues, and much more.

Below is a complete list of all the Extension award winners. Photos available upon request by contacting



IEEA Award Winners of 2019

Bob Amick Award
Tami Mosier, Steuben County


4-H Individual Award
Jenny Monarch-McGuire, Tippecanoe County


ANR Individual
Kenneth Eck, Dubois County - Agribusiness Forum Strengthens New Business


ANR Team Award - UAV Signature Program
Mark Carter, Delaware County
Austin Pearson, Tipton County
John Scott, Purdue Extension
Scott Gabbard, Shelby County
Andrew Westfall, White County
Adam Shanks, Clinton County
Jon Charlesworth, Benton County


HHS Individual
Jan Dougan, Youth Worker Café: Reject Documentary


HHS Team  Hidden in Plain Sight
Jackie Franks, Kosciusko County
Allison Goshorn, LaPorte County
Nancy Hudson, Fulton County
Alice Smith, Jasper County
Olivia Western, St. Joseph County


CES Team  Mental Health First Aid
Mark Carter, Delaware County
Kelly Heckaman, Area 11 East District Director
Tonya Short, Vigo County
Curt Emanuel, Boone County
Jane Horner, Cass County
Marilyn Sink, Clark County
Kelsey Meyers, Henry County
Gina Anderson, Floyd County
Marcia Parcell, Dearborn County
Angela Sorg, DeKalb County
Molly Hunt, Area 7 Interim East District Director
Stephanie Woodcox, HHS Assistant Program Leader
Danyele Clingan, Purdue Student


Career Awards
4-H – no entries
ANR — Steve Engleking, LaGrange County
HHS — Cindy Barnett, Whitley County


Diversity Award
Esmerelda Cruz, Clinton County

Friends of Extension
Kendell Culp, Jasper County
Cindy Scott, Cass County


Community Development Individual Award
Patty Keating, Porter County


Community Development Team Award - Hometown Collaboration Initiative
Bo Beaulieu, Purdue Center for Regional Development; Michael Wilcox, Purdue Center for Regional Development; Maria Wiltse, Purdue Center for Regional Development; Tanya Hall, Purdue Extension; Heather Strohm, Purdue Extension; Tamara Ogle, Purdue Extension; Steve Yoder, Purdue Extension; George Okantey, Purdue Extension, Kris Parker, Purdue Extension; Patricia Keating, Purdue Extension; Kristi Whitacre, Purdue Extension; Crystal Van Pelt, Purdue Extension; Mary Foell, Purdue Extension; Nick Held Purdue Extension; Hans Schmitz, Purdue Extension; Gina Anderson; Purdue Extension; Cynthia Barber, Purdue Extension; Tyler Wright, Purdue Center for Regional Development.


Community Wellness Coordinator, Individual
Caroline Arnett, LaPorte County


Extension Awards

Paul B. Crooks Award
Kathleen Bohde, Hamilton County

Outstanding Faculty/Specialist Award
Larry DeBoer, Professor of Agricultural Economics

Director’s Award
Teresa Rogers, Executive Assistant to Dean Karen Plaut



Team – Succession Planning:  Renee Wiatt, Agricultural Economics; Michael Langemeier, Agricultural Economics; Maria Marshall, Agricultural Economics; Craig Dobbins, Agricultural Economics; Krista Pullen, Purdue Extension; Paul Marcellino, Purdue Extension; Ed Farris, Purdue Extension; Lonnie Mason, Purdue Extension Retiree; Kelly Heckaman, Purdue Extension; Linda Curley, Purdue Extension; Andrew Martin, Purdue Extension; Jenna Nees, Purdue Extension; Nicholas Held, Purdue Extension; Kyle Weaver, Purdue Extension; Denise Schroeder, Purdue Extension.

Early Career — Ariana Torres - Horticulture and Landscape Architecture, Agricultural Economics
Krishna Nemali - Horticulture and Landscape Architecture

Mid-career — Aaron Patton, Horticulture and Landscape Architecture

Career – Liz Maynard, Horticulture and Landscape Architecture

Student in Extension – Danielle Marks, Animal Sciences

Leadership – John Orick, Horticulture and Landscape Architecture


Media contact: Jesica Holinger, 

Agricultural Communications: 765-494-8415;

Maureen Manier, Department Head,  

Agriculture News Page

Ag News

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-20 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at