October 24, 2017

Lectures set to celebrate Purdue’s most prestigious research awards

2017 distinguished research award winners 2017 distinguished research award winners Download image

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. — Purdue faculty members Michele R. Buzon, Mikhail Atallah and Jean A. Chmielewski will give free public lectures on Monday (Oct. 30) in Stewart Center’s Fowler Hall as the 2017 recipients of Purdue’s most prestigious awards for research and scholarship. 

Buzon, a professor of anthropology, will deliver the inaugural Lu Ann Aday Award Distinguished Lecture at 10:30 a.m. She is receiving the inaugural Lu Ann Aday Award, the University’s most prestigious award in the humanities and social sciences, for her groundbreaking work in bioarchaeology.

Atallah, a Distinguished Professor of Computer Science and a professor of electrical and computer engineering (courtesy), will deliver the 2017 Arden L. Bement, Jr. Distinguished Lecture at 1:30 p.m. He is receiving the Arden L. Bement, Jr., Award, the most prestigious award the University bestows in pure and applied science and engineering, for his significant contributions in efficient processing and security protections for computer-based technologies.

Chmielewski, the Alice Watson Kramer Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and a professor of biomedical engineering, will deliver the 2017 Herbert Newby McCoy Distinguished Lecture at 3:30 p.m. She is receiving the Herbert Newby McCoy Award, Purdue’s most prestigious award in the natural sciences, for her pioneering impact on the fields of chemical biology and drug discovery.

Each lecture will be followed by a reception in the Robert L. Ringel Gallery in Stewart Center.

“The granting of Purdue’s three most esteemed research awards is the high point of the year’s calendar for my office,” says Suresh Garimella, Purdue’s executive vice president for research and partnerships and the Goodson Distinguished Professor of Mechanical Engineering. “This year’s awardees, professors Buzon, Atallah and Chmielewski, represent the finest among their peers at Purdue and beyond.”

Award winners were nominated by colleagues, recommended by a faculty committee and named by Purdue President Mitch Daniels. The 2017 recipients will receive a cash prize along with a small grant for their university scholarly activities.

Source: Pam Burroff-Murr, 765 496-3381, burroff@purdue.edu

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-17 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at purduenews@purdue.edu.