Four Purdue professors elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science

November 24, 2015  

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. — Four Purdue University professors have been awarded the distinction of fellow from the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the world's largest general scientific society.

The professors are being honored for their efforts toward advancing science applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished.

The fellows from Purdue are:

* David F. Bahr, head and professor of materials engineering in the College of Engineering, for significant contributions to research and education in materials science and engineering, particularly for advances in experimental studies of materials reliability across length scales.

* Bruce A. Craig, professor of statistics and director of Purdue's Statistical Consulting Service in the College of Science, for important contributions to science through collaboration between the biological sciences and statistics, and for administrative leadership and mentoring in statistical consulting and collaboration.

* Laurence Baker Leonard, Rachel E. Stark Distinguished Professor of Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences in the College of Health and Human Sciences, for distinguished contributions to the field of child language development and to the understanding and treatment of language disorders, including specific language impairment.

* Timothy S. Zwier, department head and M.G. Mellon Distinguished Professor of Chemistry in the College of Science, for distinguished contributions to the fields of molecular spectroscopy and chemical dynamics, particularly for the development of laser-based methods for single-conformation spectroscopy.

The 2015 fellows will be announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of the Nov. 27 issue of Science, and they will be honored on Feb. 13 at the AAAS annual meeting in Washington D.C.

The tradition of selecting fellows began in 1874. Members can be considered for the rank of fellow if nominated by the steering group of their respective sections, by three fellows or by the association's chief executive officer. Each steering group then reviews nominations within its respective section and forwards a final list to the association's council. The nomination involves all disciplines of science and engineering, which makes it broader than any technical society. Additional information is available at   

Writers: Amy Patterson Neubert, 765-494-9723,

Elizabeth K. Gardner, 765-494-2081, 

Emil Venere, 765-494-4709, 

Sources: Bruce Craig, 765-494-6043,

Timothy Zwier, 765-494-5278,

Laurence Baker Leonard, 765 49-43794,

David Bahr, 765-494-4100, 

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2014-18 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Integrity Statement | Copyright Complaints | Brand Toolkit | Maintained by Marketing and Media

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact us at so we can help.