Appointments, honors and activities

August 15, 2014  

Faculty and staff honors:

- Faculty within the Department of Chemistry won three awards from the American Chemical Society. Hilkka Kenttämaa won the Frank H. Field and Joe L. Franklin Award for Outstanding Achievement in Mass Spectrometry, sponsored by Waters Corp.; Paul Shepson won the ACS Award for Creative Advances in Environmental Science and Technology sponsored by ACS Division of Environmental Chemistry, the ACS Publications journal Environmental Science & Technology and Environmental Science & Technology Letters; and Philip Low won the George and Christine Sosnovsky Award for Cancer Research, sponsored by the George & Christine Sosnovsky Endowment Fund. Each award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Kenttämaa is a professor of chemistry, Shepson is the Jonathan Amy Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and Low is the Ralph C. Corley Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and Director of the Purdue Center for Drug Discovery. They will be honored at an awards ceremony in March at the society's national meeting. More information about the 2015 National American Chemical Society Awards is available online at

- Mike Savage, general manager of WBAA, Public Radio from Purdue, has been elected a member director to the National Public Radio (NPR) board of directors. The announcement follows several weeks of voting, including an unprecedented nomination process where Savage is believed to be the first NPR member station representative to be petitioned onto the ballot. Savage begins his three-year term in November and joins the board as the second small-market station representative. "I am honored to be elected to the NPR board," Savage said. "As a member director it will be my top priority to ensure that the needs of small-market stations are included in NPR's strategic plan." Savage joined WBAA in November 2013 and has spent more than 20 years in public radio. Prior to working at WBAA, Savage was the director and general manager of WKCC in Kankakee, Illinois. He currently serves on the board of Public Radio in Mid-America (PRIMA) and the Indiana Public Broadcasting Stations (IPBS). The 17-member NPR Board of Directors is composed of 10 NPR member station managers (elected by fellow member stations); five public members (elected by the board and confirmed by member stations); the chairman of the NPR Foundation; and the president and CEO of NPR. The board guides the direction of NPR by setting policies and overall strategy, providing financial oversight and monitoring performance. A publication-quality photograph of Savage is available at

- Purdue police Sgt. Carrie Costello has been promoted to lieutenant of the department's investigation unit, and officer Ryan Edwards is being promoted to patrol sergeant on night shift. A pinning ceremony for the two is scheduled for 6 p.m. Aug. 25 in the TERY Conference room of the Purdue Police Department.

- Bernard Engel, head of the Department of Agricultural and Biological Engineering, has been selected as a fellow of the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. He was among 12 inductees during ASABE's Annual International Meeting in Montreal in July. Engel, who also is a professor, was selected for his research contributions to - and academic leadership of - the Purdue ABE program, one of the premier agricultural and biological engineering programs in the world. To be considered as an ASABE fellow, an individual must demonstrate unusual professional distinction, with outstanding qualifications and experience in the field of agricultural engineering. Twenty years of membership in the organization is also required. Only about 2 percent of the active members of ASABE have achieved the grade of fellow.

- Charles R. Santerre, professor of food toxicology and Purdue Extension specialist in the College of Health and Human Sciences, has been appointed to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration's Food Advisory Committee for a four-year term. The committee advises the FDA on emerging issues in food safety, food science, nutrition and other food-related health concerns.

Alumni honors:

- Gary Molander, a former student of the late Purdue professor and Nobel Laureate Herbert C. Brown, received the Herbert C. Brown Award for Creative Research in Synthetic Methods. Molander is the Hirschmann-Makineni Professor of Chemistry and Department Chair at the University of Pennsylvania. The Purdue Borane Research Fund and the Herbert C. Brown Award Endowment are sponsors of the award. More information about the 2015 National American Chemical Society Awards is available at

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2014-17 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Integrity Statement | Copyright Complaints | Brand Toolkit | Maintained by Marketing and Media

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact us at so we can help.