November 11, 2022

Provost search committee update

The provost search advisory committee is dedicated to help identify an extraordinary academic leader as the next provost of Purdue University. An internal search is launched first.

Purdue University faculty holding the rank of professor or distinguished professor are eligible to apply. The position description can be viewed online. Applications and nominations will be accepted through 5 p.m. Nov. 28. Applicants will need to apply through SuccessFactors in addition to sending a curriculum vitae and a cover letter addressing the applicant's interest and relevant experience to Amy Boyle  

The search committee is soliciting suggestions related to the characteristics and qualifications needed for the next provost from all university stakeholders, including faculty, staff, students, alumni and members of the Purdue community. As part of that process, the search committee will host two in-person sessions, each open to all members of the campus community, on the following dates:

  • Wednesday, Nov. 16, 10:30-11:30 a.m. Lawson Computer Science Building, Room 1142
  • Tuesday, Nov. 22, 1:30-2:30 p.m. Lawson Computer Science Building, Room 1142

Both sessions will be livestreamed here. Recordings of the sessions will be available on the provost search webpage.

Dedicated sessions also will be held with college deans and school/department heads, vice provosts, other campus leaders in both West Lafayette and regional campuses, and during events with student organizations.

In addition to the above listening sessions, anonymous suggestions may be submitted through a Qualtrics form, and feedback will also be accepted at Ideas can also be shared with individual committee members.

In summary, there are four ways to provide input:

  • Listening sessions
  • Email feedback
  • Anonymous suggestions
  • Communications with committee members

A series of public fora will be held Dec. 7-9, in which each finalist will make a presentation and answer questions. The finalists and the location and time of each open forum will be announced by Dec. 5.  Feedback based on each public forum will be solicited too.

The search committee members are:

  • R. Byron Pipes (chair), John L. Bray Distinguished Professor of Engineering
  • Colleen Brady, professor of agricultural sciences education and communication, Senate chair
  • JoAnn Brouillette, trustee
  • Gebisa Ejeta, Distinguished Professor of Agronomy
  • Christine Ladisch, professor of public health, dean emerita of Health and Human Sciences
  • Philip Low, Ralph C. Corley Distinguished Professor of Chemistry
  • John McConnell, Burton D. Morgan Distinguished Professor in the School of Business
  • Eric Munson, department head and Dane O. Kildsig Professor in Industrial and Physical Pharmacy
  • Richard Voyles, Daniel C. Lewis Professor in Purdue Polytechnic Institute
  • Isabelle Weber, class of 2023, vice president of Purdue Student Government
  • Melinda Zook, Germaine Seelye Oesterle Professor of History

Faculty-Staff News

More News

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-22 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at