April 25, 2018

Graduate students honored for teaching excellence

Graduate students were honored Tuesday (April 24) at the 20th Annual Celebration of Graduate Teaching Excellence, hosted by the Office of the Provost, Purdue Teaching Academy, Purdue Graduate School and Center for Instructional Excellence. 

The Graduate School Excellence in Teaching Award is the highest honor Purdue gives to a graduate student. Selected students must show excellence in mentoring and teaching undergraduate and/or graduate students, and have proven leadership and accomplishments outside of the classroom in service and outreach as well as scholarly presentations and publications. 

The 2018 recipients of the Graduate School Excellence in Teaching Award are David Blasing, Physics and Astronomy; Amy Elliot, English; Stephen Leitch, Hospitality and Tourism Management; Doug Pruim, Brian Lamb School of Communication; and Kristin Villa, Pharmacy Practice.

The event also recognized graduate students who earned the Teaching Academy Graduate Teaching Awards, Graduate Instructional Development Certificates (GIDC), Graduate Teaching Certificates (GTC), and Advanced Graduate Teaching Certificates (AGTC). 

* The recipients of the Teaching Academy Graduate Teaching Award are:

Farzaneh Atrian Afyani, Basic Medical Sciences
Anny Alvar, Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences
Laura Y. Anaya, Human Development and Family Studies
Armandeep Bakshi, Physics and Astronomy
Lia M. Bersin, Industrial and Physical Pharmacy

Wesley Bishop, History
Erin Brock Carlson, English
Pamela Carralero, English
Nathan Conrad, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Christopher Creighton, Mathematics

Javad (Nima) Darivandpour, Computer Science
Ashwati Das, Aeronautics and Astronautics
Lacey J. Davidson, Philosophy
Mackenzie Davies, Environmental and Ecological Engineering
Jorge R. Diaz Valderrama, Botany and Plant Pathology

David Edmondson, Health Sciences
Amy Elliot, English
Katherine Fowee, Aeronautics and Astronautics
Negin H. Goodrich, English
Brian P. Hoburg, Philosophy and Literature

Lorraine E. Holtaway, Aviation and Transportation Technology
Tim Keaton, Statistics
Mark Mark Keene, Hospitality and Tourism Management
Melissa G. Keith, Psychological Sciences
Violet A. Kiesel, Nutrition Science

Devin T. Knighton, Brian Lamb School of Communication
Preethi Krishnan, Sociology
Logan P. Kroneman, Materials Engineering
Jordan D. Kurth, Health and Kinesiology
Trevor Lardinois, Davidson School of Chemical Engineering

I-Fan Lin, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Alexander Lo, Engineering Technology
Hung-Yi Lo, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Drew Lugar, Animal Science
Luis Maldonado Mejia, Food Science

Wyndham Maxwell, Patti and Rusty Rueff School of Visual and Performing Arts - Theatre
Tanner McCarty, Agricultural Economics
Jordyn B. Miller, Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences
Joshua Minai, Agronomy
Pragya Mishra, Pharmacy Practice

Jonathan Monical, Civil Engineering
Lindsey Peterson, Veterinary Clinical Sciences
Molly Lorraine Phalan, Patti and Rusty Rueff School of Visual and Performing Arts - Art and Design, Photography
Matthew C. Pharris, Weldon School of Biomedical Engineering
Matthew D. Pike, Anthropology

Ricardo Quintana Vallejo, Comparative Literature
Suren Deepak Rajasekaran, Computer Graphics Technology
Meridith Robins, Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology
Patrick Ruhl, Forestry and Natural Resources
Harshad Sahasrabudhe, Physics and Astronomy

Fatemeh Sheibani, Horticulture and Landscape Architecture
Stuart Smith, Agricultural and Biological Engineering
James Stratton, Languages and Cultures
Natsumi Suzuki, Languages and Cultures
Kadari Taylor-Watson, Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Aslihan Terzi, Biological Sciences
Roberto Ulloa-Esquivel, Mathematics
Andrea Vanderpool, Comparative Pathobiology
Elis Vllasi, Political Science
Yixi Xu, Statistics

Katy Yochman, Mathematics
Kelie Yoho, Entomology
Zixun Yu, Computer Science


* Graduate students who earned the Graduate Instructional Development Certificate are:

Lauren Ann Brizgys, Agricultural Sciences Education and Communication, Animal Science
Christopher Byrd, Animal Sciences
Andres Porro Carvalhar, Engineering Education
Chih-Yuan Chou, Technology Leadership and Innovation

Ehsan Ghafari, Lyles School of Civil Engineering
Shamila Janakiraman, Curriculum and Instruction - Learning Design and Technology
Kami Jean Knies, Agricultural Sciences Education and Communication
Andrea J. Lobene, Nutrition Science

Haroon Mohammad, Comparative Pathobiology
Mercy W. Ngunjiri, Agronomy
Saba Nikrahi, Interaction Design
Jordan M.K.I. Oshiro, Food Science

Alexa Sears, Computer Graphics Technology
Emily Thyroff, Forestry and Natural Resources
Sunny Trivedi, Anthropology
Shi Yu, Educational Psychology


* Those who earned the Graduate Teacher Certificate are: 

Lauren Ann Brizgys, Agricultural Sciences Education and Communication, Animal Science
James W. Harris, Davidson School of Chemical Engineering
Ahmed A. Hashem, Agricultural and Biological Engineering
Min Ji Kang, Spanish and Portuguese
Cagla Kantarcigil, Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences

Simran Kaur, Food Science
Jonathan Kershaw, Nutrition Science
Sunyoung Kim, Spanish and Portuguese
Ashley Lorraine Kissick, Entomology
Megan R. LaFollette, Animal Sciences, Comparative Pathobiology

Hyoeun Lee, Statistics
Zhen Li, Engineering Technology
Ahmed Mahmood, Computer Science
Bethany Poyner Manning, Agronomy
Katharine Miller, Brian Lamb School of Communication

Mercy W. Ngunjiri, Agronomy
Dhinesh Radhakrishnan, Engineering
Shams Rahman Rahmani, Agronomy
Cody Blake Wilson, Brian Lamb School of Communication


* Graduate students who earned the Advanced Graduate Teacher Certificate are:

Mokhles Elsysy, Horticulture and Landscape Architecture
Parth Panchmatia, Lyles School of Civil Engineering
Megan Sue Taylor, Agronomy

Faculty-Staff News

More News

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-20 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at purduenews@purdue.edu.