May 10, 2018

Convocation recognizes faculty for honors, awards, teaching excellence

Faculty members were recognized Tuesday (May 8) at the Faculty Awards Convocation for a range of faculty honors given since last year's event, including national and international awards; University and college awards; Fellow awards; and distinguished and named professorships achieved since April 2017.

A full list of the national and international awards and college awards is available here. The awards are listed by the categories of teaching, research and scholarship, leadership and engagement.

The following University awards were recognized:

* 2018 Charles B. Murphy Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Awards: Henry Chang, Biological Sciences; Mark French, Engineering Technology; Mark Lipton, Chemistry; Haley Oliver, Food Science; John Sundquist, Languages and Cultures.

* 2018 Exceptional Early Career teaching awards: Michael Mashtare, Agronomy/Environmental and Ecological Engineering; Becky Walters, Nursing.

* 2018 Excellence in Digital Education awards: Mark Mabrito, English, credit course; Bruce Erickson, Agronomy, non-credit course; William Watson, Curriculum and Instruction, innovative course design and use of technology.

* 2017-18 Teaching for Tomorrow Fellowship Awards: Senior fellows: Patricia Darbishire, Pharmacy Practice; Karen Foli, Nursing; Larry Nies, Civil Engineering/Environmental and Ecological Engineering. Junior fellows: Jessica Ellis, Nutrition Science; Carolin Frueh, Aeronautics and Astronautics; Rajamani Gounder, Chemical Engineering; S. Selcen Guzey, Curriculum and Instruction; Alex Isaacs, Pharmacy Practice; Emily Israel, Pharmacy Practice; Matthew Lanham, Management; Michael Mashtare, Agronomy/Environmental and Ecological Engineering; Jianguo Mei, Chemistry; Monica Miller, Pharmacy Practice; Ellen Schellhase, Pharmacy Practice; Mathew Tantama, Chemistry; Becky Walters, Nursing; Zach Weber, Pharmacy Practice; Kejie Zhao, Mechanical Engineering.

* Arden L. Bement Jr. Award: Mikhail Atallah, Computer Science.

* Herbert Newby McCoy Award: Jean Chmielewski, Chemistry.

* Lu Ann Aday Award: Michelle Buzon, Anthropology.

* Clifford Kinley Trust Award: Jean Beaman, Sociology; Blake Jones, Human Development and Family Studies; A.J. Schwichtenberg, Human Development and Family Studies.

* Sigma Xi Mid-Career Award: Jennifer Freeman, Health Sciences.

* Sigma Xi Senior Faculty Award: Stephen Konieczny, Biological Sciences.

* Big Ten Academic Alliance Academic Leadership Program Fellows: Greg Buzzard, Mathematics; Barbara Golden, Biochemistry; Dimitrios Peroulis, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Susan Swithers, Psychological Sciences; Jennifer William, Languages and Cultures.

* Morrill Awards: Stephen Byrn, Industrial and Physical Pharmacy; Larry Murdock, Entomology.

* University Faculty Scholars: Ximena Arriaga, Psychological Sciences; Eric Dietz, Computer and Informational Technology; Zhang Haiyan, Engineering Technology; Todd Kelley, Technology Leadership and Innovation; Fabrice Lumineau, Management.

* Showalter Faculty Scholars: Regan Bailey, Nutrition Science; Jason Cannon, Health Sciences; Kee-Hong Kim, Food Science.

* Provost Fellows: Joan Fulton, Agricultural Economics; Nancy Peterson, English; Renee Thomas, Black Cultural Center.


Named professors (appointed after April 2017) recognized:

Jeffrey Dukes, Belcher Chair for Environmental Sustainability

Valerie Knopik, Ben and Maxine Miller Professor of Human Development and Family Studies

Seungjin Kim, Capt. James McCarthy Jr. and Cheryl E. McCarthy Head of the School of Nuclear Engineering

Patrick Wolfe, Frederick L. Hovde Dean of Science and Miller Family Professor of Statistics

Mung Chiang, John A. Edwardson Dean of Engineering and Roscoe H. George Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Donna Riley, Kamyar Haghighi Head of the School of Engineering Education

Luciano Castillo, Kenninger Professor of Renewable Energy and Power Systems

Darcy Bullock, Lyles Family Professor in the Lyles School of Civil Engineering

Pedro Irazoqui, Reilly Professor of Biomedical Engineering

Doug Schmitt, Stephen and Karen Brand Endowed Chair

Erica Carlson, 150th Anniversary Professor of Physics and Astronomy

David Eichinger, 150th Anniversary Professor of Curriculum and Instruction

Chris Hrycyna, 150th Anniversary Professor of Chemistry

Chuck Krousgrill, 150th Anniversary Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Suzanne Nielsen, 150th Anniversary Professor of Food Science

Bill Oakes, 150th Anniversary Professor of Engineering Education

Christian Oseto, 150th Anniversary Professor of Entomology

Randy Roberts, 150th Anniversary Professor of History

David Rollock, 150th Anniversary Professor of Psychological Sciences

Kathy Salisbury, 150th Anniversary Professor of Veterinary Clinical Sciences


Distinguished professors (appointed after April 2017) recognized:

Jayson Lusk, Distinguished Professor of Agricultural Economics

Weng Chew, Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Carol Post, Distinguished Professor of Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology

Michele Forman, Distinguished Professor of Nutrition Science

Laura Pyrak-Nolte, Distinguished Professor of Physics and Astronomy

Phillip Sanger, Distinguished Professor of Polytechnic Institute

Kipling Williams, Distinguished Professor of Psychological Sciences


Writer: Kelsey Schnieders Lefever,

Faculty-Staff News

More News

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-18 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at