December 5, 2017

Purdue to initiate dean search for College of Agriculture

Jay Akridge, provost and executive vice president for academic affairs and diversity, has announced the launch of a national search for the next Glenn W. Sample Dean of the College of Agriculture at Purdue. The dean's primary role is to provide exceptional vision and leadership in the college across the land-grant missions of learning, discovery, and engagement in a global context and to foster a culture and climate promoting excellence, diversity and inclusiveness.

“Because of its very talented and dedicated faculty and staff, the College of Agriculture is one of the best in the world, and we will search for a new dean who will take the college to even higher levels of excellence and impact,” Akridge said. “I want to thank Dean Willie Reed for chairing this search and for the time and energy the search advisory committee members will invest in helping us recruit an outstanding individual into this important position. I also want to thank Interim Dean Karen Plaut for continuing to provide outstanding leadership during this transition period.”

Members of the search advisory committee for the next dean of the College of Agriculture are: 

* Willie Reed, dean of Veterinary Medicine (Chair)

* Brandon Allen, graduate student in Youth Development and Agricultural Education

* Ann Beuligmann, Deere and Company, past president of Purdue Agriculture Alumni Association

* Kyle Bymaster, director of advancement for the College of Agriculture

* Clint Chapple, Distinguished Professor of Biochemistry and director of the Center for Plant Biology

* Cherise Hall, director of financial affairs for the College of Agriculture

* Catherine Hill, professor of entomology and President’s Fellow for the Life Sciences

* Bill Johnson, professor of botany and plant pathology

* Neil Knobloch, professor of youth development and agricultural education

* Shihuan Kuang, professor of animal sciences

* Lisa Mauer, professor of food science and director of the Center for Food Safety Engineering

* Maria Marshall, professor of agricultural economics

* Maureen McCann, professor of biological sciences and director of the Energy Center

* Kevin Solomon, assistant professor of agricultural and biological engineering

* Amy Thompson, director, Monroe County Extension

* Tony Vyn, professor of agronomy

* Hazel Wetzstein, professor and head, Department of Horticulture and Landscape Architecture

* LeeAnn Williams, director of undergraduate advising in Agricultural Economics

* Rod Williams, associate professor of forestry and natural resources

Akridge said the search advisory committee will seek input from the College of Agriculture faculty, staff, students and administrators, as well as the broader campus community and stakeholders across the state of Indiana to define the characteristics they seek in the next dean. This will assist the committee in building a strong pool of nominees who will be invited to Purdue for on-campus interviews beginning in April.

Faculty-Staff News

More News

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-17 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at