March 23, 2017

Armstrong, Carlson receive Murphy Awards

Dorsey Armstrong Dorsey Armstrong (Purdue University photo/Rebecca Wilcox) Download image

Dorsey Armstrong, professor in the Department of English, and Erica Carlson, professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy, have been named recipients of the 2017 Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award in Memory of Charles B. Murphy. Armstrong and Carlson were surprised with the news on Wednesday (March 22).

Purdue is announcing recipients of the Murphy Award and the Exceptional Early Career Award throughout the week. Murphy Award winners named already are Signe Kastberg, associate professor in the Department of Curriculum and Instruction, and Melanie Morgan, associate professor in the Brian Lamb School of Communication. Exceptional Early Career Award recipients are Stephanie Gardner, assistant professor in the Department of Biological Sciences, and David Sears, clinical assistant professor in the Department of Educational Studies.

Erica Carlson Erica Carlson (Purdue University photo/Rebecca Wilcox) Download image

The University's highest undergraduate teaching honor, the Murphy Award is accompanied by a $10,000 cash award and induction into Purdue's Teaching Academy, which provides leadership for the improvement of undergraduate, graduate and outreach teaching. Murphy was a history professor at Purdue from 1927 to 1970.

The Exceptional Early Career Award recognizes outstanding undergraduate teaching among Purdue's early career, tenure-track faculty. Recipients of the award will receive a $5,000 award with additional funds for a department business account.

The recipients of both awards will be honored at an invitation-only luncheon on April 3. A list of past Murphy Award and Early Career Award recipients is at A list of all winners of teaching awards is at

Faculty-Staff News

More News

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-20 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at